Paris - Roubaix 2019

Paris-Roubaix 2019On Sunday the 14th of April, the bunch sets off for the 117th edition of Paris-Roubaix. It’s the third of five Monuments on the cycling calendar. Also known as the ‘Hell of the North’, Paris-Roubaix is one of the oldest and one of the most difficult one-day races with riders having to endure a daunting gauntlet of cobbled sectors before the finish in the Roubaix Velodrome.

Check out the start list of this year’s Hell of the North.

A perfect blend of positioning, power and tactical nous are required if a rider is to lift the famous cobble-stone trophy awarded to the victor, not too mention a large slice of luck. Given the conditions, mechanical issues are unavoidable in Roubaix, the timing of which can be the difference between winning and losing.

Peter Sagan is title holder. Last edition, he launched an attack with 54 kilometres to go. He joined early attacker Silvan Dillier to best him in a two-up in the Roubaix Velodrome. Niki Terpstra finished in third.

Paris – Roubaix 2019: Cobbles, Google Maps and more

Click on the images to zoom

Watch the highlights of recent races here:

Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!