Paris - Roubaix 2015: John Degenkolb victor after thrilling finale!

In the 253 kilometers of Paris-Roubaix 2015 are 27 sectors of pavé, equalling 52.7 kilometres of cobbled racing. The race explodes in a thrilling finale. A group of seven riders enter the Velodrome in Roubaix and one of them is Degenkolb after he attacked with 10 km's left. His power-sprint shoots him to victory. Stybar is second, Van Avermaet third. (Slideshow route/profile)

Paris – Roubaix 2015: Race results

1. John Degenkolb (ger)
2. Zdenek Stybar (cze) s.t.
3. Greg Van Avermaet (bel) s.t.
4. Lars Boom (nld) s.t.
5. Martin Elmiger (swi) s.t
6. Jens Keukeleire (bel)
7. Yves Lampaert (bel) + 0.07
8. Luke Rowe (gbr) + 0.28
9. Jens Debusschere (bel) + 0.29
10. Alexander Kristoff (nor) + 0.31

Race report
With tailwind and in sunny weather the pace is high from the start. It is 5.5 km’s into the race when Alexis Gougeard, Lieuwe Westra, Tom Devriendt and Adriano Malori try to make a move, but their attempt is short-lived and they are reeled in.

With 34 km’s done nine riders break clear. Rast, Blythe, Gougeard, De Bie, Saramotins, De Clercq, Pericho, Matzka and Backaert race to a maximum gain of 10 minutes and when they arrive at the pavé it gradually goes down to around 5 minutes. At the Trouée d’Arenberg De Bie is dropped after mechanical problems, while Perichon puntures and is dropped at Beuvry-la-Forêt à Orchies.

With 9 cobbled sectors to go Stijn Vandenbergh attacks and tries to bridge the gap to the front group. He passes the dropped riders Matzka and Blythe, but can’t get to the front. At the pave of Templeuve Wiggins attacks and he bridges the gap to Vandenbergh. Also Jens Debusschere and Zdenek Stybar hook up.

With 27 km’s left the four are brought back by what’s left of the pack. The front group is brought back a little later.

On the asphalt after the cobbled sector of Gruson Yves Lampaert attacks and Greg Van Avermaet joins him. John Degenkolb bridges the gap with 7 km’s to go.

Boom, Stybar, Elmiger and Keukeleire are chasing and Stybar is the first to cross at 3 km’s from the finish line. One kilometre later the other three hook up.

The seven riders enter the velodrome and the perfect situation for Degenkolb results in him outsprinting Stybar and Van Avermaet with ease. After winning Milan-San Remo his second Monument in two months time!

Paris-Roubaix 2015: Route, videos, and more!

Click on the images to zoom

John Degenkolb

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Overview - Paris - Roubaix 2015
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!