La Flèche Wallonne Femmes 2021: Van der Breggen - seventh consecutive win

Anna van der Breggen - La Flèche Wallonne Femmes 2021: Van der Breggen - seventh consecutive winfoto: Cor VosAnna van der Breggen outguns Kasia Niewiadoma in a two-up sprint at the Wall of Huy to win the race for the seventh year in a row. Elisa Longo Borghini finishes in third. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 2021 La Flèche Wallonne Femmes

1. Anna van der Breggen (nld)
2. Katarzyna Niewiadoma (pol) + 0.02
3. Elisa Longo Borghini (ita) + 0.06
4. Annemiek van Vleuten (nld) s.t.
5. Mavi Garciá (spa) + 0.22
6. Juliette Labous (fra) + 0.28
7. Ruth Winder (usa) + 0.31
8. Cecilie Uttrup Ludwig (den) + 0.32
9. Amanda Spratt (aus) + 0.38
10. Demi Vollering (nld) + 0.42

Race report
Following an initial attack by Barbara Sniezynska and Silvia Magri two other riders, Marta Lach and Femke Gerritse, try their luck. The two are brought back midway through the race.

The next attackers are Brand, Henderson and Chabbey. The three open up a gap of 1.20 minutes before entering the final lap with a lead of 25 seconds.

The trio is brought back with 20 kilometres remaining. Winder counter-attacks to open a gap of 30 seconds.

Vollering leads the group of nine chasers to catch the American on the early slopes of the Wall. Van der Breggen starts to pull and one rider after the other loses contact. Until the World Champion and Niewiadomona are the only ones left at the front.

Van der Breggen drops Niewiadomona on the plateau at the top to win La Flèche Wallonne Femmes for the seventh time in a row.

Another interesting read: route 2021 La Flèche Wallonne Femmes.

La Flèche Wallonne Femmes 2021: route, profiles, more

Click on the images to zoom

Anna van der Breggen

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles

More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!