La Flèche Wallonne Femmes 2020: Sixth consecutive win for Van der Breggen

La Flèche Wallonne Femmes comes down to a clash between Anna van der Breggen, Cecilie Uttrup Ludwig and Demi Vollering. The World Champion pushes on hard when the Wall of Huy flattens out at the top and she wins the race for the sixth time in a row. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results La Flèche Wallonne women 2020

1. Anna van der Breggen (nld)
2. Cecilie Uttrup Ludwig (den) + 0.02
3. Demi Vollering (nld) + 0.06
4. Elizabeth Deignan (gbr) + 0.11
5. Elisa Longo Borghini (ita) s.t.
6. Ashleigh Moolman (rsa) s.t.
7. Mikayla Harvey (nzl) s.t.
8. Liane Lippert (ger) + 0.18
9. Marianne Vos (nld) + 0.22
10. Kasia Niewiadoma (pol) + 0.25

Race report
Kirstie van Haaften, Marieke van Witzenburg and Mireia Benito escape after 7 kilometres to open up a gap of almost 2 minutes.

Van Witzenburg is the first rider to drop back into the peloton, while Van Haaften and Benito are reeled in before they enter the finishing circuit.

On the circuit itself Blaak, Pieters, Koster, Mackaaij, Cordon Ragot, Barnes and Chabbey open up a gap of 30 seconds. Moolman and Longo Borghini bridges across on the summit of the Wall of Huy before all favourites come together.

A group of approximately twenty riders reaches the summit of the penultimate climb, the Côte de chemin des Gueuses.

Van der Breggen sets the pace on the finish climb. Vollering overhauls her before the ascent levels out and Uttrup Ludwig also comes across.

The World Champion pushes on hard on the false flat at the top and wins the race 2 seconds ahead of the Dane with her compatriot Vollering another 4 seconds further behind.

Other interesting reads: route and start list of La Flèche Wallonne Femmes 2020.

La Flèche Wallonne Femmes 2020: route, profiles, more

Click on the images to zoom

Anna van der Breggen

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles

More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!