Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne 2024: Van Aert wins sprint-à-trois

Wout van Aert kbk - Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne 2024: Van Aert wins sprint-à-troisfoto: Cor VosWout van Aert, Tim Wellens and Oier Lazkano leave the hilly zone behind at the helm of Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne. The trio extends their lead on the flat before Van Aert sprints to victory in the streets of Kuurne. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 2024 Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne

1. Wout van Aert (bel)
2. Tim Wellens (bel) s.t.
3. Oier Lazkano (spa) s.t.
4. Christophe Laporte (fra) + 1.27
5. Nils Eekhoff (nld) s.t.
6. Emilien Jeannière (fra) s.t.
7. Luke Lamperti (usa) s.t.
8. Lionel Taminiaux (bel) s.t.
9. Marius Mayrhofer (ger) s.t.
10. Jasper Stuyven (bel) s.t.

Race report
The short-lived breakaway takes shape after tens of kilometres, while approaching the hilly zone. De Buyst, De Bondt, Miholjevic, Rowe and Mozzato join forces, but their effort does not last and they are caught with 95 kilometres to go.

Van Aert ups the pace on Mont Saint-Laurent. Lazkano, Wellens and Pithie follow his move. The Belgian powerhouse accelerates again on the Côte de Trieu, which is too much for Pithie.

The three leaders reach the summit of the last hill, Kluisberg, 1 minute ahead of Pithie. Mohoric and Jorgenson follow 20 seconds behind the young New Zealander, while the main group is 1 minute more in arrears. The trio widens the gap on the flat run-in to Kuurne to 3 minutes.

Van Aert powers to a commanding victory in the ensuing sprint.

Other interesting reads: route and start list 2024 Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne.

Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne 2024: live tracker, profiles, more

Click on the images to zoom

Wout van Aert

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Leave a comment
No comments yet, your opinion is most welcome.

Related articles
Overview - Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne 2024 Winners and records - Kuurne - Brussels - Kuurne
More articles