Giro 2015 Stage 17: 2nd sprint-win Sacha Modolo in Italy

The 17th is the shortest stage on the Giro 2015. With the backdrop of Alpine giants riders race 134 flat kilometres, culminating in a bunch sprint won by Sacha Modolo. Contador retains his pink jersey. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 17th stage 2015 Giro

1. Sacha Modolo (ita)
2. Giacomo Nizzolo (ita) s.t.
3. Luka Mezgec (slo) s.t.
4. Heinrich Haussler (aus) s.t.
5. Davide Appollonio (ita) s.t.
6. Stig Broeckx (bel) s.t.
7. Juan José Lobato (ita) s.t.
8. Alexander Porsev (rus) s.t.
9. Kevin Reza (fra) s.t.
10. Nick van der Lijke (nld) s.t.

GC after stage 17
1. Alberto Contador (spa)
2. Mikel Landa (spa) + 4.20
3. Fabio Aru (ita) + 4.52
4. Andrey Amador (crc) + 5.48
5. Joeri Trofimov (rus) + 8.27
6. Leopold König (cze) + 9.31
7. Damiano Caruso (ita) + 9.52
8. Steven Kruijswijk (nld) + 11.40
9. Alexandre Geniez (fra) + 12.48
10. Ryder Hesjedal (can) + 13.01

Race report
Early in the race Marco Bandiera, Iljo Keisse and Giacomo Berlato jump off the front of the bunch and race to a maximum gain of 3 minutes. Halfway the race the peloton opens the chase and with 25 km’s left they are reeled in. A little later Hansen, Gretsch and Atapuma leave the pack. Hansen decides to go solo, but with 10 km’s to go he is brought back.

At 5 km’s Tom-Jelte Slagter jumps off the front of the pack with Philippe Gilbert chasing, but in the last kilometre they are caught by the pack. The bunch sprint is snatched by Sacha Modolo, his second win in 2015 Giro.

Nizzolo is second and is the new leader in the point classification.

Giro 2015 stage 17: Route maps, height profile, and more

Click on the images to zoom

Sacha Modolo

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Riders and teams - Giro 2015 Favourites and GC contenders - Giro 2015 Results - Giro 2015
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!