Critérium du Dauphiné 2016 Stage 5: Stage win and leader’s jersey Froome, Porte in second

Stage 5 in the Critérium du Dauphiné serves a hearty meal with seven climbs and a summit finish. Chris Froome powers to the win on the closing climb with Richie Porte close behind. The former teammates are now one and two in the GC, while Contador sits in third and Dan Martin in fourth. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 5th stage Critérium du Dauphiné

1. Chris Froome (gbr)
2. Richie Porte (aus) + 0.01
3. Adam Yates (gbr) + 0.19
4. Daniel Martin (irl) s.t.
5. Alberto Contador (spa) + 0.21
6. Romain Bardet (fra) + 0.25
7. Pierre Rolland (fra) + 0.27
8. Bauke Mollema (nld) s.t.
9. Louis Meintjes (rsa) s.t.
10. Julian Alaphilippe (fra) s.t.

35. Fabio Aru (ita) + 1.57

GC after 5th stage
1. Chris Froome (gbr)
2. Richie Porte (aus) + 0.07
3. Alberto Contador (spa) + 0.27
4. Daniel Martin (irl) + 0.37
5. Julian Alaphilippe (fra) + 0.42
6. Adam Yates (gbr) + 0.52
7. Diego Rosa (ita) + 1.08
8. Daniel Navarro (spa) + 1.16
9. Bauke Mollema (nld) + 1.21
10. Louis Meintjes (rsa) + 1.27

26. Fabio Aru (ita) + 3.18

Race report
Despite several attempts it’s only after 25 kms Thomas Voeckler, Alexis Vuillermoz and Tsgabu Grmay get clear. Clément Chevrier joins them and while climbing up Col du Barioz, the only 1st category climb of the day, 22 riders bridge the gap: Stephen Cummings, Wout Poels, Greg van Avermaet, Jan Bakelants, Tom-Jelte Slagter, Jens Keukeleire, Robert Kiserlovski, Roman Kreuziger, Steve Morabito, Sébastien Reichenbach, Andriy Grivko, Paolo Tiralongo, Cyril Gautier, Tomasz Marcynski, Edvald Boasson Hagen, Daniel Teklehaimanot, Ryder Hesjedal, Antonio Pedredo, Jérôme Coppel, Björn Thurau, Paul Voss and Luka Pibernik. Chevrier can’t keep the pace and is dropped, making a front group of 25 riders.

When cresting the peloton is 1 minute adrift, which is still the gap at the top of Col des Ayes. Both times Teklehaimanot takes most KOM points, making him the KOM leader.

In the descent of Col des Mouilles Grivko goes solo, while the other escapees are caught. At the lower slopes of Côte de la Sarazine Cyril Gautier, Dayer Quintana, Enrico Gasparotto and Bartosz Huzarski start chasing Grivko and in the drop they join him with a 3 minutes advantage over the pack.

When hitting the lower slopes of the closing climb the difference is 1 minute. Gasparotto and Quintana jump of the front, yet the Colombian can’t hold on. Landa attacks in the peloton to race to the front. He leaves Gasparotto, while Dan Martin accelerates in the group with favourites. For a moment it looks like Froome can’t follow but then he jumps clear to catch Landa and leave him without delay. The only rider able to follow is Porte. Leader Contador is forced to chase, along with Dan Martin and Adam Yates.

Froome pushes hard and in the dying metres of the race Porte has to let go and he finishes 1 seconds down. With time bonuses Froome now is 7 seconds clear of Porte and 27 seconds ahead of Contador, while Dan Martin sits in fourth at 37 seconds.

Critérium du Dauphiné 2016 stage 5: Route maps, height profiles, etc.

Click on the images to zoom

Chris Froome

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Favourites - Critérium du Dauphiné 2016 Overview - Critérium du Dauphiné 2016 Stage 7: Cummings solos to mountain victory, Froome wins overall - Critérium du Dauphiné 2016 Stage 6: Pinot wins Queen Stage, Froome cements overall lead - Critérium du Dauphiné 2016 Stage 4: Boasson Hagen outsprints Alaphilippe, Froome closes in on Contador - Critérium du Dauphiné 2016 Stage 3: Aru outpowers peloton after brilliant descent, Contador retains in lead - Critérium du Dauphiné 2016 Stage 2: Herrada jumps to summit victory, Contador still in overall lead - Critérium du Dauphiné 2016 Stage 1: Bouhanni outsprints pack, Contador retains in overall lead - Critérium du Dauphiné 2016 Prologue: Contador powers to victory, Porte in second, Froome in third - Critérium du Dauphiné 2016 Route prologue: Les Gets – Les Gets - Critérium du Dauphiné 2016 Route stage 1: Cluses – Saint-Vulbas - Critérium du Dauphiné 2016 Route stage 2: Crêches-sur-Saône - Chalmazel/Jeansagnière - Critérium du Dauphiné 2016 Route stage 3: Boën-sur-Lignon - Tournon-sur-Rhône - Critérium du Dauphiné 2016 Route stage 4: Tain-l'Hermitage - Belley - Critérium du Dauphiné 2016 Route stage 6: La Rochette – Méribel - Critérium du Dauphiné 2016 Route stage 7: Le Pont de Claix - Superdévoluy - Critérium du Dauphiné 2016
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!