Clásica de San Sebastián 2015: Adam Yates solos to victory

The riders are two crest six peaks in the Clásica San Sebastián. Of course the famous Alto de Jaizkibel and Alto Arkale, while the finale offers the steep Bordako Tontorra. It's there Adam Yates attacks and he solos to victory. Gilbert is second, Valverde third. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results Clásica de San Sebastián 2015

1. Adam Yates (gbr)
2. Philippe Gilbert (bel) + 0.15
3. Alejandro Valverde (spa) s.t.
4. Daniel Moreno (spa) s.t.
5. Joaquim Rodriguez (spa) s.t.
6. Bauke Mollema (nld) s.t.
7. Daniel Martin (irl) s.t.
8. Julian Alaphilipe (fra) s.t.
9. Warren Barguil (fra) s.t.
10. Rigoberto Uran (col) s.t.

Race report
In the breakaway are Wynants, Boaro, Agnoli, Haas, Degand, Mas, Vanendert (Dennis) and Hardy. The eight riders race to a 5 minutes gain before Movistar takes control in the pack to bring it down to 4 minutes. There it lingers for a while, but with around 60 km’s left the gap is down to under 2 minutes.

The front group explodes just under the top with Boaro cresting first, followed by Degand and Vanendert. At the second climb up the Arkale the three come together, but with 38 km’s left the escapees are reeled in. Then a group with Gilbert, Hesjedal, Landa, Serry, Arredondo, Silin, Caruso, Rossetto and Barguil attack. The pack is close.

While climbing Bordako Tontorra Barguil goes solo, but Van Avermaet counter-attacks with a bunch of other riders. When the Belgian is hit by a motor, Yates takes over. An elite-group with Valverde, Dan Martin, Mollema, Purito, Kreuziger and Uran opens the chase in the drop, but at the bottom of the hill the young Briton still enjoys enjoys a 0’15” lead. It’s enough for him to solo to victory.

The chasers are chased down in the end and Philippe Gilbert outsprints Alejandro Valverde.

Clásica de San Sebastián 2015: Route, profiles and more

Click on the images to zoom

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Overview - Clásica de San Sebastián 2015
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!