Clásica de San Sebastián 2017: Kwiatkowski wins five-up sprint

While taking in eight climbs, this year's Clásica de San Sebastián amounts to 231 kilometres. With only Gallopin and title defender Mollema on his wheel, Landa forces a crucial selection on the short and sharp Murgil in the finale. Kwiakowski and Dumoulin rejoin them in the descent before the Pole outsprints the lot in the streets of Sán Sebastián. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 2017 Clásica de San Sebastián

1. Michal Kwiatkowski (pol)
2. Tony Gallopin (fra) s.t.
3. Bauke Mollema (nld) s.t.
4. Tom Dumoulin (nld) s.t.
5. Mikel Landa (spa) + 0.02
6. Alberto Bettiol (ita) + 0.28
7. Anthony Roux (fra) + 0.38
8. Greg Van Avermaet (bel) s.t.
9. Tiesj Benoot (bel) s.t.
10. Nicolas Roche (irl) s.t.

Race report
Loïc Chetout and Sven Erik Bystrøm are the first attackers. Jon Ander Insausti, Mickaë Delage, Imanol Erviti, Christoph Pfingsten and Mathias Le Turnier chase them down and they crest the first climb, the Meaga, with a lead of 3 minutes.

Gradually the gap widens and when the front group hits the Alto de Jaizkibel for the first time the main group is more than 5 minutes in arrears, which is the maximum lead of the day. On the second ascent of the Jaizkibel it has fallen below 2 minutes. Gilbert is dropped from the peloton, while Erviti bids goodbye to his fellow-attackers, albeit Le Turnier hooks up later on. Yet, their efforts don’t pay off as they are reeled in before the top.

Before hitting the Arkale for the second time a group opens a small gap. Gianni Moscon is aboard and with 25 kms left the Italian goes solo. He races to a lead of more than half a minute, yet he is brought back before the last climb, the Murgil.

Jelle Vanendert attacks on the steep slopes and halfway up the hill Mikel Landa counter-attacks with Tony Gallopin on is wheel. Bauke Mollema bridges across and the trio is first to plunge down. Michal Kwiatkowski and Tom Dumoulin chase them down on descent.

Landa and Dumoulin open up a small gap in the streets of Sán Sebastián, still the race comes down to a sprint with Kwiatkowski outperforming Gallopin and Mollema.

Read also: route 2017 Clásica de San Sebastián.

Clásica de San Sebastián 2017: Route maps, height profiles, and more

Click on the images to zoom

Michal Kwiatkowski

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Overview - Clásica de San Sebastián 2017
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!