Clásica de San Sebastián 2016: Mollema solos to victory

At 220.2 kilometres, the Clásica de San Sebastián takes the riders through the hills of the Basque Country. Bauke Mollema counters a Joaquim Rodriguez attack at the steep closing climb and he soloes to victory. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results Clásica de San Sebastián 2016

1. Bauke Mollema (nld)
2. Tony Gallopin (fra) + 0.05
3. Alejandro Valverde (spa) + 0.05
4. Joaquim Rodriguez (spa) + 0.22
5. Greg Van Avermaet (bel) + 0.34
6. Gianluca Brambilla (ita) s.t.
7. Simon Yates (gbr) s.t.
8. Tom-Jelte Slagter (nld) s.t.
9. Nicolas Roche (irl) s.t.
10. Dries Devenyns (bel) + 0.37

Race results
Early on Moreno Moser, Mario Costa, Pirmin Lang, Jacques Janse van Rensburg, Jaime Roson and Loic Chetout get clear. They race to a maximum lead at 6’38” with 15 kms done.

For tens of kilometers the gap lingers at around 5 minutes, but when Astana opens the chase after 120 kms the gain drops quick. Lang can’t follow the pace up front and Przemysław Niemiec makes the jump.

While climbing up the Jaizkibel Moser, Niemiec, Roson and Van Rensburg are left up front. Cataldo and Landa bridge the gap along with De la Cruz, Formolo, De Marchi, Woods and Koshevoy. Yet, after the drop the pack is bunched again.

Uran is the first to attack on the short and steep closing climb, Murgil Tontorra. Yates counters the Colombian with Rodriguez on his wheel. Purito goes solo, yet Mollema bridges the gap along with Valverde and Gallopin. The four are first at the top.

At the false flat at the top Mollema goes on the attack. He enjoys a 6 seconds lead when he is back in San Sebastian. That’s enough to take one of the best wins in his career.

Clásica de San Sebastián 2016: Route maps, height profiles, etc.

Click on the images to zoom

Bauke Mollema

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Overview - Clásica de San Sebastián 2016
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!