Vuelta a España: Winners and records

Sepp Kuss vuelta - Vuelta a España: Winners and recordsfoto: Cor VosOut of all 3 Grand Tours the Vuelta a España is really the one requiring climbers legs. Without them you don't even have to go there, unless you are looking for some lost sprinter stages. presents the recent winners.

You’ll recognize the overall leader by his red jersey. The green jersey is around the shoulders of the first man in the points classification – because of all the top finishes this is usually a climber. Just like in the Tour de France, the winner of the KOM classification is awarded a polka dot jersey, only difference being the dots are blue instead of red.

La Vuelta first introduced the best young rider classification in 2019. Before that a combination classification was in order, which was a complicated mix of the other three classifications.

Year GC Points Mountains Youth
2024 ? ? ? ?
2023 Sepp Kuss Kaden Groves Remco Evenepoel Juan Ayuso
2022 Remco Evenepoel Mads Pedersen Richard Carapaz Remco Evenepoel
2021 Primoz Roglic Fabio Jakobsen Michael Storer Gino Mäder
2020 Primoz Roglic Primoz Roglic Guillaume Martin Enric Mas
2019 Primoz Roglic Primoz Roglic Geoffrey Bouchard Tadej Pogacar
2018 Simon Yates Alejandro Valverde Thomas De Gendt
2017 Chris Froome Chris Froome Davide Villella
2016 Nairo Quintana Fabio Felline Omar Fraille
2015 Fabio Aru Alejandro Valverde Omar Fraille
2014 Alberto Contador John Degenkolb Luis León Sanchez
2013 Chris Horner Alejandro Valverde Nicolas Edet
2012 Alberto Contador Alejandro Valverde Simon Clarke
2011 Chris Froome Bauke Mollema David Moncoutié
2010 Vincenzo Nibali Mark Cavendish David Moncoutié
2009 Alejandro Valverde André Greipel David Moncoutié
2008 Alberto Contador Greg Van Avermaet David Moncoutié

Records in the Vuelta a España

With four overall victories Roberto Heras is record holder. Of the still active drivers Primoz Roglic comes closest with three GC wins.

If we are talking about stage wins, only one rider is the king. In the 1940’s Spaniard Delio Rodríguez won 33 stages and in edition 1941, 12 out of 22 stages were his. Alessandro Petacchi comes closest with 20 stages.

The 1984 Vuelta saw the smallest GC gap ever recorded in a Grand Tour. Eric Caritoux (France) won the race with a 6 seconds lead over Alberto Fernandez Blanco (Spain).

Alberto ContadorChris FroomeNairo QuintanaAlejandro ValverdeVincenzo NibaliFabio AruPrimoz RoglicSimon YatesRichard CarapazFabio JakobsenTadej PogacarRemco EvenepoelSepp KussMads PedersenEnric MasGuillaume MartinGino MäderMichael StorerKaden GrovesJuan Ayuso

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Leave a comment
No comments yet, your opinion is most welcome.

Related articles

More articles