Vuelta 2019: Arndt wins hectic finale, Edet new leader

In a hectic and slippery finale Nikias Arndt stays upright to sprint to victory in the 8th stage of La Vuelta. His fellow-attacker Nicolas Edet moves into the red jersey as the GC group finishes with a delay of more than 9 minutes. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 8th stage Vuelta a España 2019

1. Nikias Arndt (ger)
2. Álex Aranburu (spa) s.t.
3. Tosh Van der Sande (bel) s.t.
4. Ruben Guerreiro (por) s.t.
5. Jonas Koch (ger) s.t.
6. Dylan Teuns (bel) s.t.
7. Jonathan Lastra (spa) s.t.
8. Tobias Ludvigsson (swe) s.t.
9. Fernando Barceló (spa) s.t.
10. Sergio Henao (col) s.t.

11. Nicolas Edet (fra) s.t.
13. Carl Fredrik Hagen (nor) s.t.

-peloton at 9.24

GC after stage 8
1. Nicolas Edet (fra)
2. Dylan Teuns (bel) + 2.21
3. Miguel Ángel López (col) + 3.01
4. Primoz Roglic (slo) + 3.07
5. Alejandro Valverde (spa) + 3.17
6. Nairo Quintana (col) + 3.28
7. Carl Fredrik Hagen (nor) + 3.45
8. Rafal Majka (pol) + 4.59
9. Tadej Pogacar (slo) + 5.37
10. Esteban Chaves (col) + 5.53

11. George Bennett (nzl) + 6.35
12. Wilco Kelderman (nld) + 6.37
13. Fabio Aru (ita) s.t.
14. Pierre Latour (fra) + 6.56
15. Mikel Nieve (spa) + 7.02
19. Sergio Higuita (col) + 9.25
23. Robert Gesink (nld) + 12.06

Race report
Attacks are flying from the start, but it takes 19 kilometres for the breakaway to take shape. A group of 21 riders – Dylan Teuns, Luis León Sánchez, Zdenek Stybar, Jesús Herrada, Sergio Henao, David de la Cruz, Martijn Tusveld, Jorge Arcas, Silvan Dillier, Jonas Koch, Tobias Ludvigsson, Carl Fredrik Hagen, Tosh Van der Sande, Nic Dlamini, Ruben Guerreiro, Nikias Arndt, Peter Stetina, Alex Aranburu, Jonathan Lastra, Nicolas Edet and Fernando Barceló – open up a gap of 6 minutes.

The lead group tackles the Puerto de Montserrat 5.39 minutes ahead of the peloton. Stetina goes on the attack, while Barceló rejoins him just before the top. Herrada bridges across also before more riders regroup.

The finale is played out in rainy conditions. Barceló, Guerreiro and Tusveld enjoy a small lead at the end of the descent. Aranburu bridges across, while the chasers are close behind.

The peloton is more than 7 minutes in arrears.

Tusveld attacks, but he goes down before the chasers regroup. Stybar strikes in the last 2 kilometres, but he also doesn’t make it. The race comes down to a sprint finish with Arndt outpowering his rivals.

Edet moves into the race lead with former red jersey Teuns in second. López lies in third, still 6 seconds ahead of Roglic.

Another interesting read: route 8th stage 2019 Vuelta.

Vuelta a España 2019 stage 8: route, profile, more

Click on the images to zoom

Nikias Arndt

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Favourites stage 8: Sprinters or (late) attackers - Vuelta 2019 The Route - Vuelta 2019 Riders - Vuelta 2019 Withdrawals - Vuelta 2019 Results - Vuelta 2019 Favourites - Vuelta 2019
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!