Vuelta 2017: Denifl takes win at Los Machucos, Froome still in red but loses time to Nibali

The 17th stage of La Vuelta takes in two intermediate climb to finish on the summit of Los Machucos, which is an extremely irregular climb with steepest ramps of up to 26%. Attacker Stefan Denifl climbs to victory on the narrow cow track, despite an impressive chase by Alberto Contador. Chris Froome retains in the overall lead, although Vincenzo Nibali comes closer. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 17th stage 2017 Vuelta

1. Stefan Denifl (aut)
2. Alberto Contador (spa) + 0.28
3. Miguel Ángel López (col) + 1.04
4. Vincenzo Nibali (ita) s.t.
5. Ilnur Zakarin (rus) s.t.
6. Rafal Majka (pol) s.t.
7. Michael Woods (can) + 1.13
8. Daniel Moreno (spa) + 1.17
9. Wilco Kelderman (nld) + 1.19
10. David de la Cruz (spa) + 1.42

11. Steven Kruijswijk (nld) s.t.
14. Chris Froome (gbr) + 1.46
15. Wout Poels (nld) + 1.53
17. Fabio Aru (ita) + 2.04
19. Louis Meintjes (rsa) + 2.05
24. Tejay van Garderen (usa) + 2.55
43. Esteban Chaves (col) + 5.52

GC after the 17th stage
1. Chris Froome (gbr)
2. Vincenzo Nibali (ita) + 1.16
3. Wilco Kelderman (nld) + 2.13
4. Ilnur Zakarin (rus) + 2.25
5. Alberto Contador (spa) + 3.34
6. Miguel Ángel López (col) + 4.39
7. Michael Woods (can) + 6.33
8. Wout Poels (nld) + 6.40
9. Fabio Aru (ita) + 6.45
10. David de la Cruz (spa) + 10.10

11. Steven Kruijswijk (nld) + 10.13
12. Esteban Chaves (col) + 10.46
13. Tejay van Garderen (usa) + 11.20
14. Louis Meintjes (rsa) + 13.03

Race report
Stefan Denifl, Alessandro De Marchi, Daniel Moreno, Magnus Cort, Julian Alaphilippe and KOM leader Davide Villella form the break of the day. They race to a maximum lead of more than 9 minutes.

When cresting the first climb, Portillo de Lunada, the gap is down to 4 minutes. Villella takes most KOM points before he is dropped on the rainy and misty descent.

On the Puerto de Alisas the lead of the front group falls to 2 minutes. Adam Yates and Esteban Chaves jump clear from the front of the peloton, while David de la Cruz, Antonio Pedrero, Jarlinson Pantano, Antonio Nibali, Pello Bilbao and Jaime Rosón chase them down. Yet they are brought back. Cort gets dropped from the front group.

At the foot of Los Machucos the four remaining leaders are 1’30” ahead of the peloton. Moreno goes alone, but Denifl chases him down to leave him behind. Meanwhile, López and Contador attack from the main group. Froome struggles and loses contact, but keeps an eye on the other GC guys. That is, at first.

Contador leaves López behind to head for the front of the race, but he comes up short, finishing 28 seconds down on Denifl. Behind them, the race explodes when Nibali attacks and Zakarin rejoins the Shark of Messina. They catch López, who sticks with them, while Kelderman follows the beat of his own drum and Froome fights to stay on the wheel on his team mate Nieve.

On the line, López takes the remaining time bonus of 4 seconds, outsprinting Nibali, Zakarin and Majka. Kelderman finishes 15 seconds down on them and Froome loses 42 seconds. The Briton is still in red, but his lead on the blood smelling Shark of Messina is down to 1’16”.

Read also:  route 17th stage 2017 Vuelta.

Vuelta 2017 stage 17: Route maps, height profiles, and more

Click on the images to zoom

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
The Route - Vuelta 2017 Riders - Vuelta 2017 Withdrawals - Vuelta 2017 Results - Vuelta 2017 Start times time trial - Vuelta 2017 GC Favourites - Vuelta 2017
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!