Vuelta 2015 stage 21: Degenkolb takes Madrid, Aru La Vuelta

John Degenkolb vueltaThe last stage of the Vuelta totals almost 100 kilometres and the race boils down to a bunch sprint with John Degenkolb besting Danny van Poppel. Fabio Aru wins the Vuelta 2015, Purito is second and Majka third. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 21st stage Vuelta

1. John Degenkolb (ger)
2. Danny van Poppel (nld) s.t.
3. Jean Pierre Drucker (lux) s.t.
4. Daryl Impey (rsa) s.t.
5. Tosh Van der Sande (bel) s.t.
6. Maximiliano Richeze (arg) s.t.
7. Nicolas Maes (bel) s.t.
8. Kristian Sbaragli (ita) s.t.
9. Kevin Reza (fra) s.t.
10. Tom Van Asbroeck (bel) s.t.

Final GC Vuelta 2015
1. Fabio Aru (ita)
2. Joaquim Rodriguez (spa) + 0.57
3. Rafal Majka (pol) + 1.09
4. Nairo Quintana (col) +1.42
5. Esteban Chaves (col) + 3.10
6. Tom Dumoulin (nld) + 3.46
7. Alejandro Valverde (spa) + 6.47
8. Mikel Nieve (spa) + 7.06
9. Daniel Moreno (spa) + 7.12
10. Louis Meintjes (rsa) + 10.26

Race report
The riders take it easy, but once in Madrid Matteo Montaguti, Omar Fraile, Carlos Verona, Jose Joaquin Rojas, Ben King and Laurent Pichon attack in the second lap. They race to a maximum lead of 30 seconds with a nervous pack chasing. The break is caught before entering te last round.

Despite several attacks it all boils down to a bunch sprint with Degenkolb powering to his first stage win in la Vuelta 2015.

Vuelta 2015 stage 21: Route maps, height profile, and more

Click on the images to zoom

John DegenkolbFabio Aru

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Riders and teams - Vuelta 2015 Favourites - Vuelta 2015 Withdrawals - Vuelta 2015 Results - Vuelta 2015
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!