Tour of the Alps: Winners and records

The Tour of the Alps is a road race in Italy and Austria, that’s played out in April. First held in 1962 under the name Giro del Trentino, the race was rebranded in 2017. The route usually goes through the regions South Tyrol, Trentino (Italy) and Tyrol (Austria). brings you the recent winners and all records.

Recent winners Tour of the Alps

2021: Simon Yates (gbr)
2020: cancelled
2019: Pavel Sivakov (rus)
2018: Thibaut Pinot (fra)
2017: Geraint Thomas (gbr)
2016: Mikel Landa (spa)
2015: Richie Porte (aus)
2014: Cadel Evans (aus)

Records Tour of the Alps

Damiano Cunego is the repeat winner with the best palmares on this race. The Little Prince won the race three times, in 2004, 2006 and 2007.

Fransesco Moser, Paolo Savoldelli, Francesco Casagrande and Vincenzo Nibali took two wins.

Cunego, Savoldelli and Casagrande are the only riders who won the race back-to-back. Savoldelli did so in 1998 and 1999 and Casagrande in 2001 and 2002, while Cunego was successful in 2006 and 2007.

You might have guessed, but the Italians are record holder with most victories, winning the race thirty times.

Richie PorteVincenzo NibaliMichele ScarponiDomenico PozzovivoGeraint ThomasMikel LandaThibaut PinotSimon YatesPavel Sivakov

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Overview - Tour of the Alps 20 Großschartner solos to triumph, Yates seals GC win - Tour of the Alps 20 Bilbao wins three-up spint, Yates cements lead - Tour of the Alps 20 Second triumph Moscon, Yates keeps GC lead - Tour of the Alps 20 Simon Yates solos to leader's jersey - Tour of the Alps 20 Route stage 1: Brixen – Innsbruck - Tour of the Alps 20 Route stage 2: Innsbruck – Feichten im Kaunertal - Tour of the Alps 20 Route stage 3: Imst – Naturns - Tour of the Alps 20 Route stage 4: Naturns – Pieve di Bono - Tour of the Alps 20 Route stage 5: Idroland – Riva del Garda - Tour of the Alps 20 Moscon takes race lead with late attack - Tour of the Alps 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!