Tour Down Under 2016: Sweet revenge Gerrans in stage 3: victory and ochre jersey

The 3rd stage of the Tour Down Under is won by Simon Gerrans. Taking sweet revenge after yesterday's crash, the 35-year old now outsprints Rohan Dennis and catapults himself into the leaders jersey, 3 seconds ahead of Jay McCarthy. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 3rd stage Tour Down Under

1. Simon Gerrans (aus)
2. Rohan Dennis (aus) s.t.
3. Michael Woods (can) s.t.
4. Jay McCarthy (aus) s.t.
5. Steve Morabito (swi) s.t.
6. Rafael Valls (spa) s.t.
7. Sergio Henao (col) s.t.
8. Domenico Pozzovivo (ita) s.t.
9. Richie Porte (aus) s.t.
10. Ruben Fernandez (spa) s.t.

GC after stage 3
1. Simon Gerrans (aus)
2. Jay Mc Carthy (aus) + 0.03
3. Rohan Dennis (aus) + 0.05
4. Michael Woods (can) + 0.11
5. Sergio Henao (col) + 0.15
6. Rafael Valls (spa) s.t.
7. Ruben Fernandez (spa) s.t.
8. Steve Morabito (swi) s.t.
8. Domenico Pozzovivo (ita) s.t.
10. Richie Porte (aus) s.t.

Race report
Laurens De Vreese escapes early on, but he is caught with 22 kilometres left.

The GC-men open fire at the climb up Corkscrew Road. Richie Porte attacks, but Sergio Henao and Michael Woods take over and they are first to crest. In the technical descent to the finish line they are accompanied by a group of another eight GC-men.

In Campbelltown Simon Gerrans outsprints Rohan Dennis by a tiny margin. Taking the time bonus of 10 seconds, he now is the new leader in the Tour Down Under. After taking 1 second at an intermediate sprint, Jay McCarthy follows at 3 seconds, while title defender Rohan Dennis is 5 seconds down on the overall lead.

Tour Down Under 2016 stage 3: Route maps, height profiles, and more

Click on the images to zoom

Simon Gerrans

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Favourites - Tour Down Under 2016 Overview - Tour Down Under 2016 Sprint victory Ewan stage 6, Gerrans overall winner - Tour Down Under 2016 Porte victor on Willunga Hill, Gerrans retains lead in stage 5 - Tour Down Under 2016 Gerrans cements GC-lead with back-to-back win in stage 4 - Tour Down Under 2016 Jay McCarthy wins uphill finish after crash marked finale in stage 2 - Tour Down Under 2016 Caleb Ewan sprints to victory in stage 1 - Tour Down Under 2016 Route stage 1: Prospect – Lyndoch - Tour Down Under 2016 Route stage 2: Unley – Stirling - Tour Down Under 2016 Route stage 4: Norwood – Victor Harbor - Tour Down Under 2016 Route stage 5: McLaren Vale – Willunga Hill - Tour Down Under 2016 Route stage 6: Criterium Adelaide - Tour Down Under 2016
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!