Tour de France 2022: Clarke wins cobbled stage, Van Aert retains race lead

Simon Clarke - Tour de France 2022: Live report stage 5foto: Cor VosSimon Clarke wins the cobbled stage on the Tour from the breakaway. He pips Taco van der Hoorn in a close sprint finish. Wout van Aert retains the yellow jersey after a hectic day. Primoz Roglic loses minutes and Jack Haig crashes out of the Tour. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 5th stage 2022 Tour de France

1. Simon Clarke (aus)
2. Taco van der Hoorn (nld) s.t.
3. Edvald Boasson Hagen (nor) + 0.02
4. Neilson Powless (usa) + 0.04
5. Magnus Cort (den) + 0.30
6. Jasper Stuyven (bel) + 0.51
7. Tadej Pogacar (slo) s.t.
8. Jasper Philipsen (bel) + 1.04
9. Fabio Jakobsen (nld) s.t.
10. Luca Mozzato (ita) s.t.
– GC contenders s.t.

61. Primoz Roglic (slo) + 2.59
85. Ben O’Connor (aus) + 4.12
98. Michael Woods (can) s.t.
116. Giulio Ciccone (ita) + 9.24

GC after stage 5
1. Wout van Aert (bel)
2. Neilson Powless (usa) + 0.13
3. Edvald Boasson Hagen (nor) + 0.14
4. Tadej Pogacar (slo) + 0.19
5. Yves Lampaert (bel) + 0.25
6. Mads Pedersen (den) + 0.36
7. Jonas Vingegaard (den) + 0.40
8. Adam Yates (gbr) + 0.48
9. Tom Pidcock (gbr) + 0.49
10. Geraint Thomas (gbr) + 0.50

12. Aleksandr Vlasov (rus) + 0.56
17. Daniel Felipe Martínez (col) + 1.09
18. Romain Bardet (fra) + 1.10
19. Nairo Quintana (col) + 1.14
20. David Gaudu (fra) + 1.15
21. Jakob Fuglsang (den) + 1.20
22. Enric Mas (spa) + 1.21
44. Primoz Roglic (slo) + 2.36
67. Ben O’Connor (aus) + 4.34

Race report
Taco van den Hoorn, Magnus Cort and Edvald Boasson Hagen are the first attackers. Simon Clarke, Neilson Powless and Alexis Gougeard chase them down. The six hit the first cobbles 3.35 minutes ahead of the peloton.

Ben O’Connor is forced to chase due to a mechanical on sector 2. Peter Sagan and Giulio Ciccone are also behind.

Mathieu van der Poel can’t follow the pace with 38 kilometres remaining. Wout van Aert, Yves Lampaert and Enric Mas are also struggling. Jonas Vingegaard drops back after a mechanical.

Less then 10 kilometres later Primoz Roglic, Jack Haig and Caleb Ewan hit the deck, which leads to Haig’s withdrawal.

In short, the field gets shattered in this phase.

Tadej Pogacar ups the pace in the first chase group on sector 5, while Gougeard can’t follow the lead group.

Jasper Stuyven and Tadej Pogacar attack on sector 3 from the first chase group and they enter sector 2 37 seconds behind the lead group. But the duo can’t come any closer. Meanwhile, yellow jersey Wout van Aert leads the group other GC favourites back into contention.

Cort loses contact in the lead groep on the last sector, while his team mate Powless attacks just before the flamme rouge. Boasson Hagen brings him back and when he runs out of steam Van der Hoorn takes over. Clarke pips the Dutchman for the win in the dying metres of the race.

The Van Aert/GC group finishes 1.04 minutes behind the stage winner and 13 seconds behind Pogacar. Which is enough for Van Aert to retain in yellow.

Another interesting read: route 5th stage 2022 Tour de France.

Tour de France 2022 stage 5: routes, profiles, more

Click on the images to zoom

Simon Clarke

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Favourites stage 5: Roubaix à La Grande Boucle - Tour de France 20 The Route - Tour de France 20 Riders - Tour de France 20 Withdrawals - Tour de France 20 Results - Tour de France 20 GC Favourites - Tour de France 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!