Tour de France 2019: Simon Yates wins at Prat d’Albis, Alaphilippe still leader

The riders tackle three intermediate climbs before the final haul up on the unprecedented Prat d'Albis appears. Early attacker Simon Yates takes the stage win ahead of Thibaut Pinot and Mikel Landa. Julian Alaphlippe loses time, but stays in yellow. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 15th stage Tour de France 2019

1. Simon Yates (gbr)
2. Thibaut Pinot (fra) + 0.33
3. Mikel Landa (spa) s.t.
4. Emanuel Buchmann (ger) + 0.51
5. Egan Bernal (col) s.t.
6. Lennard Kämna (ger) + 1.03
7. Geraint Thomas (gbr) + 1.22
8. Steven Kruijswijk (nld) s.t.
9. Alejandro Valverde (spa) s.t.
10. Richie Porte (aus) + 1.30

11. Julia Alaphilippe (fra) + 1.49

GC after stage 15
1. Julian Alaphilippe (fra)
2. Geraint Thomas (gbr) + 1.35
3. Steven Kruijswijk (nld) + 1.47
4. Thibaut Pinot (fra) + 1.50
5. Egan Bernal (col) + 2.02
6. Emanuel Buchmann (ger) + 2.14
7. Mikel Landa (spa) + 4.54
8. Alejandro Valverde (spa) + 5.00
9. Jakob Fuglsang (den) + 5.27
10. Rigoberto Uran (col) + 5.33

Race report
It takes more than 50 kilometres for the break to take shape. On the Col de Montségur a group with Quintana, Woods, Mollema, Dan Martin, Ciccone, Zakarin, Simon Yates, Nibali and Bardet breaks free. Woods, Nibali and Bardet are the first three riders over the summit, while a group with Matthews bridges across in the valley.

Mas can’t follow the peloton’s pace on the Porte de Lers, while Nibali, Zakarin and Mollema are dropped from the lead group. Bardet is the first rider to reach the summit with the GC men 5 minutes behind.

The lead group on the first slope of the Mur de Péguère features Bardet, Gallopin, Molard, Reichenbach, Quintana, Amador, Soler, Bilbao, Fraile, Lutsenko, Woods, Yates, Geschke, Martin (Dan), Bernard, Ciccone, Kämna, Roche, Herrada, Martin (Guillaume) and Kreuziger.

Geschke goes solo 5.6 kilometres before the top, while Landa speeds up in de GC group on the steep ramps of the last 3 kilometres. Adam Yates loses contact, while his brother Simon goes after Geschke inside the last kilometre before the top. The two start the descent together with the peloton 2.40 minutes behind.

Soler and Amador wait for Landa to draft him to the foot of the Prat d’Albis.

Yates and Geschke tackle the last climb 1.30 minute ahead of the group Quintana/Bardet. Landa is 2 minutes behind with the GC riders 1 minute further back.

On the early slopes Landa rejoins the chasers, while Yates attacks with 8.6 kilometres left to climb. Landa forges on with Kämna, the only rider able to follow.

Pinot strikes in the GC group. Alaphilippe, Bernal and Buchmann go with him. Kruijswijk and Thomas are dropped. Another Pinot acceleration and the maillot jaune is gone. Buchmann is next. Another acceleration and Bernal cracks also.

Pinot rejoins Landa, while Thomas attacks on the lower slopes. Kruijswijk, Valverde and Porte go with him, but Alaphilippe stays behind.

Yates solos to victory and Pinot outsprints Landa for second place. As Bernal and Buchmann finish fourth and fifth to gain time on Thomas, Kruijswijk and, obviously, Alaphilippe, the top of the GC is close together after the Pyrenees.

Another interesting read: route 15th stage 2019 Tour de France.

Tour de France 2019 stage 15: route, profiles, more

Click on the images to zoom

Simon Yates

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
The Route - Tour de France 2019 Riders - Tour de France 2019 Withdrawals - Tour de France 2019 Results - Tour de France 2019 Visit the Tour de FranceOverview GC Favourites - Tour de France 2019
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!