Tour de France 2017: Matthews powers to win on punchy closing climb, Froome regains yellow

The 14th stage in the Tour de France runs to the decisive Côte de Saint-Pierre, a punchy 570 metres climb at 9.6%. Michael Matthews outpowers Greg Van Avermaet, while Chris Froome regains the maillot jaune. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 14th stage 2017 Tour de France

1. Michael Matthews (aus)
2. Greg Van Avermaet (bel) s.t.
3. Edvald Boasson Hagen (nor) + 0.01
4. Philippe Gilbert (bel) s.t.
5. Jay McCarthy (gbr) s.t.
6. Sonny Colbrelli (ita) s.t.
7. Chris Froome (gbr) s.t.
8. Daniel Martin (irl) s.t.
9. Rigoberto Uran (col) s.t.
10. Tiesj Benoot (bel) + 0.05

11. Romain Bardet (fra) s.t.
13. Simon Yates (gbr) s.t.
20. Mikel Landa (spa) + 0.15
23. Nairo Quintana (col) + + 0.22
24. Alberto Contador (spa) + s.t.
25. George Bennett (nzl) s.t.
28. Louis Meintjes (rsa) s.t.
30. Fabio Aru (ita) + 0.26

GC after the 13th stage
1. Chris Froome (gbr)
2. Fabio Aru (ita) + 0.18
3. Romain Bardet (fra)+ 0.23
4. Rigoberto Uran (col) + 0.29
5. Mikel Landa (spa) + 1.17
6. Daniel Martin (irl) + 1.26
7. Simon Yates (gbr) + 2.02
8. Nairo Quintana (col) + 2.22
9. Louis Meintjes (rsa) + 5.09
10. Alberto Contador (spa) + 5.37

11. George Bennett (nzl) + 6.39
12. Pierre Latour (fra) + 10.56
13. Mikel Nieve (spa) + 10.58

Race report
Thomas Voeckler is the first attacker and Thomas De Gendt, Timo Roosen and Maxime Bouet join him. Reto Hollenstein bridges the gap and they race to a lead of almost 3 minutes before the pack takes control.

On a climb with 40 kms to go De Gendt and Voeckler are the last men standing, while the Flemish solo-expert leaves the Frenchman behind with 31 kms remaining when his lead is down to 1’30”.

De Gendt is brought back with 12 kms left before Lammertink attacks with Caruso on his wheel, while Arndt and Perichon chase them down. When they are almost reeled in Lammertink attacks again, but he is swept up as the peloton powers to the steep drag up to the finish line.

Naesen is the first to attack before Gilbert and then Van Avermaet move into the lead. Matthews sits on the wheel of the Olympic Champion – who won two years ago on the same arrival – and comes around him with hundred metres left to climb to victory. A group with Froome and Rigoberto Uran finishes only 1 second behind them, while Bardet is 5 seconds in arrears.

And the yellow jersey? Aru is too far back in the field at the foot of the climb and loses almost half a minute, thus handing back the maillot jaune to Chris Froome.

Read also: route 14th stage 2017 Tour de France.

Tour de France 2017 stage 14: Route maps, height profiles, and more

Click on the images to zoom

Michael Matthews

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Riders - Tour de France 2017 Withdrawals - Tour de France 2017 Results - Tour de France 2017 stage 20: Start times ITT - Tour de France 2017 stage 1: Start times ITT - Tour de France 2017 GC Favourites - Tour de France 2017
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!