Paris-Nice 2018 Stage 8: De la Cruz wins thriller-race, Soler takes GC

Paris-Nice's final stage is played out on a short and explosive route with six intermediate climbs. It turns into a thriller of a race with David de la Cruz winning the stage and Marc Soler pocketing the overall victory, 4 seconds ahead of Simon Yates. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 8th stage 2018 Paris-Nice

1. David de la Cruz (spa)
2. Omar Fraille (spa) s.t.
3. Marc Soler (spa) + 0.03
4. Patrick Konrad (aut) + 0.38
5. Tim Wellens (bel) z.t.
6. Simon Yates (gbr) s.t.
7. Dylan Teuns (bel) s.t.
8. Richard Carapaz (ecu) s.t.
9. Gorka Izagirre (spa) s.t.
10. Ion Izagirre (spa) s.t.

Final GC 2018 Paris-Nice
1. Marc Soler (spa)
2. Simon Yates (gbr) + 0.04
3. Gorka Izagirre (spa) + 0.14
4. Ion Izagirre (spa) + 0.16
5. Tim Wellens (bel) s.t.
6. Dylan Teuns (bel) + 0.32
7. Patrick Konrad (aut) + 0.44
8. Alexis Vuillermoz (fra) + 1.54
9. David de la Cruz (spa) + 2.15
10. Felix Grosschartner (aut) + 2.35

Race report
It’s raining cats and dogs in Paris-Nice and following a quiet start the first proper attacks are launched on the Côte Cote de Levens. David De la Cruz, Jakob Fuglsang, Omar Fraile and Jesus Herrada open up a gap, yet they are brought back as there is an intermediate sprint at the top. Gorka Izagirre is fastest ahead of Tim Wellens and Simon Yates.

A group of 23 riders push on: Simon Yates, Ion Izagirre, Tim Wellens, Gorka Izagirre, Julian Alaphilippe, Dylan Teuns, Roman Kreuziger, Thomas De Gendt, Omar Fraile, Jakob Fuglsang, Tony Gallopin, Luis León Sánchez, Michael Valgren, Pierre-Luc Perichon, Sergio Henao, David de la Cruz, Ilnur Zakarin, Christopher Juul-Jensen, Marc Soler, Jesus Herrada, Felix Grosschartner and Patrick Konrad.

Alaphilippe, Fuglsang and Fraile head out together.

While descending the Côte de Chateauneuf Fuglsang hits the deck and he winds up in the yellow jersey’s group. Oliver Naessen also hooks on, but after a chase – as do Sam Oomen, Rudy Molard, Warren Barguil and Matteo Trentin.

Fraile goes solo on the Côte de Peille, while Soler and De la Cruz attack from the main group to gobble up Alaphilippe en rejoin the sole leader. Soler takes a time bonus of 3 seconds in the second intermediate sprint in La Turbie.

At the top of Col d’Èze the main group is 1 minute down on the three leaders, while Fraile leaves his companions behind on descent. Yet, on the last climb, Col des Quatre Chemins, the three regroup. Title defender Henao is dropped from the main group and Ion Izagirre goes on the attack. Tim Wellens tracks him down – with Gorka Izagirre, Dylan Teuns and Richard Carapaz on his wheel – and Simon Yates is struggling.

Soler can’t follow the pace at the front of the race and moments later De la Cruz goes alone. But just over the top Soler rejoins him and Fraile hooks on, too. The Izagirre brothers hit the deck and Yates passes them by. With three they chase the group Wellens down.

On the Promenade des Anglais Fraile opens up the sprint, but De la Cruz takes the win. An exhausted Soler comes in third, 3 seconds down. He pockets a time bonus of 4 seconds – 4 golden seconds.

The chasers finish 35 seconds in arrears. Soler started this morning 37 seconds down on yellow. Yates took 1 second in the first intermediate sprint, Soler 3 seconds in the second sprint. So that’s ex aequo… were it not for the Spaniard’s third place on today’s stage.

Read also: route 8th stage 2018 Paris-Nice.

Paris-Nice 2018 stage 8: Route maps, height profiles, and more

Click on the images to zoom

David de la CruzMarc Soler

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Favourites - Paris-Nice 20 Overview - Paris-Nice 20 Stage 7: Simon Yates solos to victory and overall lead - Paris-Nice 20 Stage 6: Solo victory Molard, LL Sánchez still in lead - Paris-Nice 20 Stage 5: Cousin bests Politt in two-up sprint, LL Sánchez retains lead - Paris-Nice 20 Stage 4: Wout Poels takes ITT, LL Sánchez holds on to yellow jersey - Paris-Nice 20 Stage 3: Jonathan Hivert wins and LL Sánchez takes yellow - Paris-Nice 20 Stage 2: Groenewegen sprints to victory, Démare retains yellow - Paris-Nice 20 Stage 1: Démare wins cobbled uphill sprint to take overall lead - Paris-Nice 20 Route stage 1: Chatou – Meudon - Paris-Nice 20 Route stage 2: Orsonville - Vierzon - Paris-Nice 20 Route stage 3: Bourges - Châtel-Guyon - Paris-Nice 20 Route stage 4: La Fouillouse - Saint-Étienne - Paris-Nice 20 Route stage 5: Salon-de-Provence - Sisteron - Paris-Nice 20 Route stage 6: Sisteron - Vence - Paris-Nice 20 Route Stage 7: Nice - Valdeblore La Colmiane - Paris-Nice 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!