Paris-Nice 2018 Stage 3: Jonathan Hivert wins and LL Sánchez takes yellow

At 210 kilometres, Paris-Nice's 3rd stage travels from Bourges to Châtel-Guyon. Just after a climb with 20 kilometres remaining, the Côte des Charbonnières, LL Sánchez, Di Gregorio and Hivert attack . The race boils down to a three-up sprint with Hivert fastest, while Sánchez takes the yellow jersey. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 3rd stage 2018 Paris-Nice

1. Jonathan Hivert (fra)
2. Luis León Sánchez (spa) + 0.01
3. Rémy Di Gregorio (fra) s.t.
4. Arnaud Démare (fra) + 0.38
5. Mike Teunissen (nld) s.t.
6. André Greipel (ger) s.t.
7. Magnus Cort (den) s.t.
8. Matteo Trentin (ita) s.t.
9. Julian Alaphilippe (fra) s.t.
10. Felix Grosschartner (aut) s.t.

GC after 3rd stage
1. Luis León Sánchez (spa)
2. Arnaud Démare (fra) + 0.28
3. Gorka Izagirre (spa) + 0.35
4. Julian Alaphilippe (fra) + 0.38
5. Mike Teunissen (nld) + 0.41
6. Tim Wellens (bel) s.t.
7. Roman Kreuziger (cze) s.t.
8. Heinrich Haussler (aus) + 0.43
9. Felix Grosschartner (aut) s.t.
10. Ion Izagirre (spa) s.t.

11. Tony Gallopin (fra) s.t.
12. Esteban Chaves (col) s.t.
15. Marc Soler (spa) s.t.
17. Wout Poels (nld) s.t.
23. Daniel Martin (irl) s.t.
24. Sergio Henao (col) s.t.
26. Robert Gesink (nld) s.t.
27. Simon Yates (gbr) s.t.
29. Bauke Mollema (nld) s.t.
34. Sam Oomen (nld) + 1.01
41. Warren Barguil (fra) + 1.15
56. Jakob Fuglsang (den) + 2.16

Race report
Once the flag is dropped three riders go on the attack. Jay Thomson, Fabien Grellier and Przemyslaw Kasperkiewicz put more than 7 minutes into the peloton before they are taken on a leash. When the lead is down to 4 minutes Grellier heads out alone on the Côte des Boulards.

Yet, the peloton closes in on the lone leader to gobble him up with 36 kms remaining.

On the Côte des Charbonnières leader Démare is dropped, while Poels is plagued by a mechanical. Meanwhile, Alaphilippe accelerates with Wellens on his wheel. Fuglsang, Ion Izagirre and Calmejane track them down before a group with Mollema and other GC guys rejoin them on a false flat after the top.

Di Gregorio attacks and LL Sánchez and Hivert chase him down. On descent the trio takes a lead of 1 minute. Behind them the peloton regroups.

Di Gregorio tries to escape in the last kms, yet Sánchez holds a steady pace and brings him back twice. On the final straight Hivert sprints away and LL Sánchez comes in second to move into the overall lead. Tomorrow brings a challenging individual time trial.

Read also: route 3rd stage 2018 Paris-Nice.

Paris-Nice 2018 stage 3: Route maps, height profiles, and more

Click on the images to zoom

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Favourites - Paris-Nice 20 Overview - Paris-Nice 20 Stage 8: De la Cruz wins thriller-race, Soler takes GC - Paris-Nice 20 Stage 7: Simon Yates solos to victory and overall lead - Paris-Nice 20 Stage 6: Solo victory Molard, LL Sánchez still in lead - Paris-Nice 20 Stage 5: Cousin bests Politt in two-up sprint, LL Sánchez retains lead - Paris-Nice 20 Stage 4: Wout Poels takes ITT, LL Sánchez holds on to yellow jersey - Paris-Nice 20 Stage 2: Groenewegen sprints to victory, Démare retains yellow - Paris-Nice 20 Stage 1: Démare wins cobbled uphill sprint to take overall lead - Paris-Nice 20 Route stage 1: Chatou – Meudon - Paris-Nice 20 Route stage 2: Orsonville - Vierzon - Paris-Nice 20 Route stage 4: La Fouillouse - Saint-Étienne - Paris-Nice 20 Route stage 5: Salon-de-Provence - Sisteron - Paris-Nice 20 Route stage 6: Sisteron - Vence - Paris-Nice 20 Route Stage 7: Nice - Valdeblore La Colmiane - Paris-Nice 20 Route stage 8: Nice – Nice - Paris-Nice 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!