Milan - San Remo 2019: Julian Alaphilippe wins 11-up sprint

Julian Alaphilippe outguns Oliver Naesen and Michal Kwiatkowski in the sprint of an elite group in Milan-San Remo. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results Milan-San Remo 2019

1. Julian Alaphilippe (fra)
2. Oliver Naesen (bel) s.t.
3. Michal Kwiatkowski (pol) s.t.
4. Peter Sagan (svk) s.t.
5. Matej Mohoric (slo) s.t.
6. Wout Van Aert (bel) s.t.
7. Alejandro Valverde (spa) s.t.
8. Vincenzo Nibali (ita) s.t.
9. Simon Clarke (aus) s.t.
10. Matteo Trentin (ita) s.t.
11. Tom Dumoulin (nld) s.t

Race report
The front group comprises Fausto Masnada, Mirco Maestri, Guy Sagiv, Luca Raggio, Sebastian Schönberger, Joonas Henttala, Andrea Peron, Charles Planet, Alessandro Tonelli and Umberto Poli. The ten race to a lead of more than 10 minutes before the peloton takes the reins.

Masnada heads out alone on Capo Berta before he is reeled in on the Cipressa. Groenewegen and Bouhanni are struggling on the climb.

Bonifazio attacks in the descent and the Italian is brought back before the Poggio. While is at the back of the peloton, Bettiol accelerates 1.5 kilometres before the top. Alaphilippe takes over inside the last kilometre (photo) and Sagan, Van Aert, Valverde, Naesen, Kwiatkowski and Trentin manage to cling on. The seven are the first riders over the Poggio and Dumoulin, Valverde, Nibali en Mohoric rejoin them in the descent.

Mohoric launches his sprint from far out, but Alaphilippe overhauls to win the sprint with a clear margin ahead of Naesen and Sagan.

Other interesting reads: route and start list Milan-San Remo 2019.

Milan-San Remo 2019: route, profiles, more.

Click on the images to zoom

Julian Alaphilippe

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Overview - Milan - San Remo 2019
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!