Liège–Bastogne–Liège 2024: Pogacar wins with attack from La Redoute

Tadej pogacar lbl - Liège–Bastogne–Liège 2024: Pogacar wins with attack from La Redoutefoto: Cor VosTadej Pogacar strikes on the Côte de la Redoute and crowns a 34 kilometres long solo with his second victory in Liège–Bastogne–Liège. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 2024 Liège–Bastogne–Liège

1. Tadej Pogacar (slo)
2. Romain Bardet (fra) + 1.39
3. Mathieu van der Poel (nld) + 2.02
4. Maxim van Gils (bel) s.t.
5. Aurélien Paret-Peintre (fra) s.t.
6. Mauri Vansevenant (bel) s.t.
7. Valentin Madouas (fra) s.t.
8. Alexey Lutsenko (kaz) s.t.
9. Pello Bilbao (spa) s.t.
10. Tom Pidcock (gbr) s.t.

Race report
Gil Gelders, Rémy Rochas, Lilian Calmejane and Paul Ourselin initiate the breakaway. Loïc Vliegen, Christian Scaroni, Iván Romeo, Enzo Leijnse and Fabien Doubey jump across to make it nine at the helm. They race to a lead of 4.30 minutes.

In the run-up to the Côte de Mont-le-Soie a crash hinders Mathieu van der Poel, Pello Bilbao, Tom Pidcock, Romain Grégoire and Aleksandr Vlasov. They are forced to chase.

The peloton reels in the attackers on the Côte de Mont-le-Soie, while the group Van der Poel is 1.30 minutes in arrears at the summit.

Pidcock and Vansevenant jump away from the chase group on the Côte de Stockeu and reach the summit 1 minute behind the peloton. Grégoire rejoins them on the plateau, but it doesn’t really matter, as all riders that were hindered by the crash return to the peloton after a 27 kilometres chase.

Tadej Pogacar strikes with 900 metres left to climb on La Redoute. Richard Carapaz tries to follow, but he cracks, and the Slovene reaches the summit 15 seconds ahead of the first chasers. More riders bridge across and the chase group features Maxim Van Gils, Richard Carapaz, Ben Healy, Mattias Skjelmose, Alexey Lutsenko, Romain Bardet, Mattias Skjelmose, Alexey Lutsenko, Mauri Vansevenant, Pello Bilbao, Marc Hirschi, João Almeida, Romain Grégoire, Benoît Cosnefroy and Romain Bardet.

Pogacar’s lead balloons to 1 minute in no-time before Healy goes after him. Bardet is the first rider to track him down before Cosnefroy and Grégoire also make it across. A group with Mathieu van der Poel rejoin Skjelmose et al in the back ground.

Pogacar tackles the Côte de la Roche-aux-Faucons 1.15 minutes ahead of the four chasers. The third group is 1.40 minutes in arrears.

Bardet drops his companions on the Roche-aux-Faucons, while the other three are rejoined by Egan Bernal, Richard Carapaz, Tiesj Benoot and Maxim Van Gils at the plateau after the summit. The chase behind Bardet doesn’t really take off and the Frenchman powers on, while a group with Van der Poel regains contact in the dying kilometres.

Pogacar celebrates a commanding triumph and Bardet is happy to finish as the best of the rest. Van der Poel wins the sprint for third place.

Other interesting reads: route and start list 2024 Liège-Bastogne-Liège.

Liège–Bastogne–Liège 2024: route, profiles, more

Click on the images to zoom

Tadej Pogacar

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Leave a comment
No comments yet, your opinion is most welcome.

Related articles
Winners and records - Liège-Bastogne-Liège
More articles