La Flèche Wallonne 2016: Valverde powers to historic fourth victory

In 2016 La Flèche Wallonne comes in 196 kilometres and twelve hills. Of course the finish is on top of the steep Wall of Huy and, of course, the race is decided here. Alejandro Valverde is perfect in control and he powers to his fourth win La Fleche Wallonne. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results La Flèche Wallonne

1. Alejandro Valverde (spa)
2. Julian Alaphilippe (fra)
3. Daniel Martin (irl)
4. Wout Poels (nld)
5. Enrico Gasparotto (ita)
6. Samuel Sánchez (spa)
7. Michael Albasini (swi)
8. Diego Ulissi (ita)
9. Warren Barguil (fra)
10. Rui Costa (por)

Race report
Stephen Cummings jumps clear when no break has been formed with 55 kms done. Van der Sande, Helven, Bouwman, Pacher, Bono, Dillier, Laengen, Reijnen and Pedersen bridge the gap and the ten race to a lead at over 3 minutes.

With 50 kms remaining Cummings accelerates once again. Van der Sande, Bono and Dillier are the only ones able to follow.

At the penultimate climb up the Wall of Huy the pack is 0’30” down. At the top only Dillier and Cummings are left at the front. A little later the Briton goes solo and he powers to a 1 minute lead, but at the Côte d’Ereffe his story is over.

Jungels, Preidler and Izagirre attack on their way to the Cherave. Preidler is dropped and Wellens takes his place with 3 kms left, but at the foot of the Wall of Huy the three leaders are caught.

At the steep ramp Valverde rules like an emperor. Purito and Dan Martin try to attacks, but to no avail. The Spaniard is too strong. However, Martin pushes on to finish in third behind Julian Alaphilippe.

With the victory Valverde is the sole record holder in La Fleche Wallonne.

La Fleche Wallonne 2016: Route maps, height profiles, and more

Click on the images to zoom

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Overview - La Flèche Wallonne 2016
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!