Giro 2022: De Gendt wins from the breakaway, López keeps pink

Thomas De Gendt - Giro 2022: De Gendt wins from the breakaway, López keeps pinkfoto: Cor VosThomas De Gendt outsprints Davide Gaburo, Jorge Arcas and his team mate Harm Vanhoucke in Naples, while Juan Pedro López stays in the maglia rosa. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 8th stage 2022 Giro

1. Thomas De Gendt (bel)
2. Davide Gabburo (ita) s.t.
3. Jorge Arcas (spa) s.t.
4. Harm Vanhoucke (bel) + 0.04
5. Biniam Girmay (eri) + 0.15
6. Mauro Schmid (swi) s.t.
7. Mathieu van der Poel (nld) s.t.
8. Wout Poels (nld) + 0.33
9. Guillaume Martin (fra) s.t.
10. Fabio Felline (ita) + 2.56
– GC riders s.t.

GC after stage 8
1. Juan Pedro López (spa)
2. Lennard Kämna (ger) + 0.38
3. Rein Taaramäe (est) + 0.58
4. Guillaume Martin (fra) + 1.06
5. Simon Yates (gbr) + 1.42
6. Mauri Vensevenant (bel) + 1.47
7. Wilco Kelderman (nld) + 1.55
8. João Almeida (por) + 1.58
9. Pello Bilbao (spa) + 2.00
10. Richie Porte (aus) + 2.04

11. Romain Bardet (fra) + 2.06
12. Richard Carapaz (ecu) s.t.
13. Mikel Landa (spa) 2.15
14. Thymen Arensman (nld) s.t.
15. Jai Hindley (aus) + 2.16
18. Hugh Carthy (gbr) + 2.20
20. Giulio Ciccone (ita) + 2.32
23. Emanuel Buchmann (ger) + 2.39
25. Iván Sosa (col) + 3.05

Race report
Six riders jump clear from the start. Mathieu van der Poel tracks them down with among others Diego Ulissi, Wout Poels, Thomas De Gendt, Biniam Girmay, Guillaume Martin, Mauro Schmid and Harm Vanhoucke. The lead group puts 3 minutes into the peloton.

Van der Poel accelerates on a climb with 46 kilometres remaining. Girmay, Schmid and Poels jump to his wheel before the rest of the group regains contact.

Gabburo counter attacks, while De Gendt, Vanhoucke, Ravanelli and Arcas bridge across. Ravanelli is dropped on the Monte di Procida climb. The chasers are 16 seconds behind on the top.

The four widen the gap to 40 seconds, which is halved by a chase group featuring Van der Poel, Poels, Girmay, Schmid and Martin. But then it goes back up again to 40 seconds.

The four leaders reach the summit of the last climb 20 seconds ahead of the five chasers. Just 7 kilometes remaining, mostly on descent.

Van der Poel en Girmay distance the other three in the downhill and head for the front of the race. But they don’t come closer than 9 seconds.

Meanwhile Vanhoucke is pulling at the front. He leads out his team mate De Gendt, who opens the sprint to storm to a commanding victory.

The peloton comes home 3 minutes later. López will enjoy at least one more day in the pink jersey, while attacker Martin moves up to the fourth place overall.

Another interesting read: route 8th stage 2022 Giro d’Italia.

Giro d’Italia 2022 stage 8: routes, profiles, more

Click on the images to zoom

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Bouwman still KOM leader - Giro 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!