Giro 2024: Brilliant solo triumph Alaphlippe, Pogacar still leader

Julian Alaphilippe - Giro 2024: Brilliant solo triumph Alaphlippe, Pogacar still leaderfoto: Cor VosJulian Alaphilippe pulls off a daring feat in the 'tappa dei muri' of the Giro. He is the first attacker as soon as the riders enter the hills, and eventually, he solos to a brilliant victory. Tadej Pogacar retains the pink jersey. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 12th stage 2024 Giro

1. Julian Alaphilippe (fra)
2. Jhonatan Narváez (ecu) + 0.31
3. Quinten Hermans (bel) + 0.32
4. Michael Valgren (den) + 0.43
5. Christian Scaroni (ita) s.t.
6. Matteo Trentin (ita) + 1.30
7. Simon Clarke (aus) s.t.
8. Gijs Leemreize (nld) s.t.
9. Mirco Maestri (ita) s.t.
10. Benjamin Thomas (fra) s.t.
– peloton + 5.25

GC after stage 12
1. Tadej Pogacar (slo)
2. Daniel Felipe Martínez (col) + 2.40
3. Geraint Thomas (gbr) + 2.56
4. Ben O’Connor (aus) + 3.39
5. Antonio Tiberi (ita) + 4.27
6. Romain Bardet (fra) + 4.57
7. Lorenzo Fortunato (ita) + 5.19
8. Filippo Zana (ita) + 5.23
9. Einer Rubio (col) + 5.28
10. Thymen Arensman (nld) + 5.52

Race report
Enzo Paleni, Roel van Sintmaartensdijk, and Matteo Trentin open up a small gap after 10 kilometres of action. They race at the front for tens of kilometres and then a new group takes the reins. They are quickly reeled in.

In the hilly zone, Julian Alaphilippe initiates the breakaway, and Jhonatan Narváez, Ewen Costiou, Christian Scaroni, Benjamin Thomas, Simon Clarke, Michael Hepburn, Mirco Maestri, and Edoardo Affini accompany him. While Alaphilippe and Maestri distance the others on the climb to Recanati, with over 120 kilometres left to race, the chase group expands to 36 riders. The two leaders widen their lead over the chasers to more than 2 minutes.

Inside the last 80 kilometres, Jhonatan Narváez, Quinten Hermans, Christian Scaroni, Benjamin Thomas, Michael Valgren, Dion Smith, Simon Clarke, Gijs Leemreize, and Matteo Trentin open the chase. Initially, they close in to 1 minute at first, but then the gap goes out again.

The gap falls below 1 minute inside the last 30 kilometres, and Alaphilippe drops Maestri on the first slopes. He reaches the summit 40 seconds ahead of the first chasers, Narvaéz and Hermans.

The former World Champion descends onto the flat finale and pushes ahead to claim his first stage win in the Giro d’Italia.

The GC rankings remain unchanged, with Tadej Pogacar well ahead in the pink jersey.

Another interesting read: route 12th stage 2024 Giro.

Giro d’Italia 2024 stage 12: video, route, profiles

Click on the images to zoom

Julian Alaphilippe

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Leave a comment
No comments yet, your opinion is most welcome.

Related articles
Milan still in ciclamen - Giro 2024 The Route - Giro 2024 Results - Giro 2024 Winners and records - Giro d'Italia Withdrawals - Giro 2024 Riders - Giro 2024 GC Favourites - Giro 2024
More articles