Giro 2022: Withdrawals

Biniam Girmay - Giro 2022: Withdrawalsfoto: Cor VosThe Giro d'Italia started on Friday 6 May in Hungary with 174 contestants, while 27 of them did not reach the finish in Verona.

Jan Tratnik crashed in the finale of the 1st stage and he was the first rider to abandon on the third day of action. The first pre-race favourite to pull out was Miguel Ángel López. A hip injury forced the Colombian out part-way through stage 4. The most dramatic withdrawal was Biniam Girmay though. After sprinting to victory in stage 11 – the first black African to win a Grand Tour stage -, a cork struck the Eritrean in the eye during the podium ceremony.

The second pre-race favourite to withdraw was Romain Bardet in stage 13. He was sick and could not continue the race, while João Almeida did not start in stage 18 after a positive COVID-19 test.

DNF in stage 3
48. Jan Tratnik (slo – Bahrain-Victorious)

DNF in stage 4
26. Jakub Mareczko (ita – Alpecin-Fenix)
36. Miguel Ángel López (col – Astana Qazaqstan Team)

DNF in stage 5
53. Filippo Fiorelli (ita – Bardiani-CSF-Faizanè)

DNS in stage 7
174. Michael Mørkøv (den – Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl)

DNF in stage 7
58. Samuele Zoccarato (ita – Bardiani-CSF-Faizanè)
96. Owain Doull (gbr – EF Education-EasyPost)
167. Sergio Samitier (spa – Movistar)

DNS in stage 8
94. Simon Carr (gbr – EF Education-EasyPost)

DNF in stage 9
157. Rüdiger Selig (ger – Lotto Soudal)

DNS in stage 11
121. Biniam Girmay (eri – Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert)

DNS in stage 12
151. Caleb Ewan (aus – Lotto Soudal)

DNF in stage 13
191. Romain Bardet (fra – Team DSM)

DNS in stage 14
24. Alexander Krieger (ger – Alpecin-Fenix)
131. Giacomo Nizzolo (ita – Israel-Premier Tech)
193. Cees Bol (nld – Team DSM)

DNF in stage 14
141. Tom Dumoulin (Ned – Jumbo-Visma)

DNF in stage 15
32. Valerio Conti (ita – Astana Qazaqstan Team)

DNS in stage 16
92. Jonathan Caicedo (ecu – EF Education-EasyPost)

DNF in stage 16
81. Natnael Testfatsion (eri – Drone Hopper-Androni Giocattoli)
128. Loïc Vliegen (bel – Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert)

DNF in stage 17
158. Harm Vanhoucke (bel – Lotto Soudal)
181. Simon Yates (gbr – BikeExchange Jayco)

DNS in stage 18
211. João Almeida (por – UAE Emirates)

DNS in stage 19
83. Jefferson Cepeda (ecu – Drone Hopper-Androni Giocattoli)

DNF in stage 19
4. Richie Porte (aus – INEOS Grenadiers)

DNF in stage 20
33. David de la Cruz (spa – Astana Qazaqstan Team)

Last year, 40 out of 184 contestants did not reach the finish in Milan. Krist Neilands was the first rider to withdraw as early as the first day. The Latvian rider broke his collarbone after the ITT when he returned to the team hotel and crashed. Pre-race favourites Mikel Landa and Remco Evenepoel were among the notable riders who did not make it to the finish line.

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
GC Favourites - Giro 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!