Clásica de San Sebastián 2022: Evenepoel wins with monster solo

Remco Evenepoel - Clásica de San Sebastián 2022: Evenepoel wins with monster solofoto: Cor VosRemco Evenepoel goes solo in the last 50 kilometres of the Clásica de San Sebastián. The Belgian crests the Murgil-Tontorra more than 2 minutes ahead of Pavel Sivakov and wins the race for the second time in three editions. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results Clásica de San Sebastián 2022

1. Remco Evenepoel (bel)
2. Pavel Sivakov (fra) + 1.58
3. Tiesj Benoot (bel) + 2.31
4. Bauke Mollema (nld) + 3.11
5. Carlos Rodriguez (spa) s.t.
6. Simon Yates (gbr) + 3.28
7. Tom Skujins (lat) + 4.09
8. Mattias Jensen (den) s.t.
9. Rigoberto Uran (col) s.t.
10. Lorenzo Rota (ita) s.t.

Race report
Théo Delacroix, Manuele Boaro, Casper Pedersen, Martijn Tusveld, Eugenio Sánchez, Ibai Azurmendi, Óscar Cabedo and Alan Jousseaume establish the breakaway after roughly 10 kilometres, while Jon Barrenetxea tracks them down. The nine put 3 minutes into the peloton. That’s all they get.

Boaro, Tusveld, Azurmendi and Grallier are the last men to be reeled in on the Jaizkibel. Pogacar and Schachmann lose contact in the climb.

Evenepoel attacks on the Erlaitz and Yates goes with him. The Belgian goes alone in the last 2 kilometres of the climb. Yates falls back into a group with Mollema, Rodriguez, Sivakov and Benoot.

Team mates Sivakov and Rodriguez set off in pursuit before the passage in San Sebastián. They cross the line 1 minute behind the soloist, while the group Mollema is 30 seconds further behind.

Evenepoel further extends his lead both before and on the Murgil-Tontorra. He reaches the summit more than 2 minutes ahead of Sivakov.

Evenpoels starts celebrating the win in the last kilometre and still wins the race with a good margin.

Another interesting read: route 2022 Clásica de San Sebastián.

Clásica de San Sebastián 2022: routes, profiles, more

Click on the images to zoom

Remco Evenepoel

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Overview - Clásica de San Sebastián 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!