Brabantse Pijl 2023: Godon bests Healy in sprint-à-deux

Dorian Godon - Brabantse Pijl 2023: Godon bests Healy in sprint-à-deuxfoto: Cor VosDorian Godon wins the Brabantse Pijl. The Frenchman outsprints Ben Healy in the false flat finish, while Godon's team mate Benoît Cosnefroy finishes in third. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 2023 Brabantse Pijl

1. Dorian Godon (fra)
2. Ben Healy (irl) + 0.01
3. Benoît Cosnefroy (bel) + 0.21
4. Rémi Cavagna (fra) + 0.24
5. Axel Zingle (fra) + 0.25
6. Alexander Kamp (swi) s.t.
7. Arnaud de Lie (bel) s.t.
8. Andrea Bagioli (ita) s.t.
9. Tom Skujins (lat) s.t.
10. Kim Heiduk (ger) s.t.

Race report
After 10 kilometres of action a group of four jumps off the front. Johan Meens, Sander De Pestel, Tord Gudmestad and Rory Townsend open up a 7 minutes gap.

Rémi Cavagna rejoins the lead gourp with 54 kilometres to go. He pushes on with Gudmestad, while Dorian Godon, Ben Healy, Andreas Kron and Lucas Eriksson chase them down. They put more than 1 minute into the remnants of the peloton.

The six enter the last lap 48 seconds ahead of the peloton. Which inspires Cavagna to go solo. Healy brings him back in the Hagaard climb. Godon is also on board.

Healy and Godon push on together in the Hertstraat climb. The duo distance Cavagna and battle it out for the win.

Godon wins the sprint a few bike lengths ahead of the young Irishman, while Cosnefroy overhauls Cavagna on the home straight to finish in third.

Other interesting reads: route and start list of the 2023 Brabantse Pijl.

Brabantse Pijl 2023: route, profile, more

Click on the images to zoom

Dorian Godon

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Overview - Brabantse Pijl 2023
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!