Vuelta 2023: Roglic wins at Xorret del Xatí, Kuss takes La Roja

Primoz Roglic vuelta - Vuelta 2023: Roglic wins at Xorret del Xatí, Kuss takes La Rojafoto: Cor VosJumbo-Visma controls the 8th stage of La Vuelta, which results in the stage win for Primoz Roglic and red jersey for Sepp Kuss. The Slovene outsprints Remco Evenepoel and Juan Ayuso for the win, while the American finishes in seventh to take his first leader's jersey in a Grand Tour. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 8th stage 2023 Vuelta

1. Primoz Roglic (slo)
2. Remco Evenepoel (bel) s.t.
3. Juan Ayuso (spa) s.t.
4. Enric Mas (spa) + 0.02
5. Jonas Vingegaard (den) s.t.
6. João Almeida (por) s.t.
7. Sepp Kuss (usa) s.t.
8. Marc Soler (spa) s.t.
9. Wout Poels (nld) + 0.34
10. Aleksandr Vlasov (rus) + 0.39

13. Lenny Martinez (fra) + 1.10

GC after stage 8
1. Sepp Kuss (usa)
2. Lenny Martinez (fra) + 0.43
3. Marc Soler (spa) + 1.00
4. Wout Poels (nld) + 2.05
5. Mikel Landa (spa) + 2.29
6. Remco Evenepoel (bel) + 2.31
7. Primoz Roglic (slo) + 2.38
8. Jonas Vingegaard (den) + 2.42
9. Enric Mas (spa) s.t.
10. Juan Ayuso (spa) + 2.52

11. João Almeida (por) + 3.09
15. Aleksandr Vlasov (rus) + 4.05

Race report
In an action-filled opening of the race the breakaway takes shape after the Alto de Vall d’Ebo. An attack by 20 riders is extended by 10 more men. On board are Finn Fisher-Black, Jonathan Castroviejo, Damiano Caruso, Antonio Tiberi, Kenny Elissonde, Bauke Mollema, Ben Zwiehoff, Thomas De Gendt, Andreas Kron, Sylvain Moniquet, Lennert Van Eetvelt, Diego Camargo, Julius van den Berg, Nicolas Prodhomme, Welay Berhe, Callum Scotson, Rui Costa, Oier Lazkano, Nelson Oliveira, Jesús Herrada, Ruben Fernandez, Romain Bardet, Cristián Rodríguez, Fabien Doubey, Paul Ourselin, Javier Romo, Vadim Pronskiy, Diaz Gallego, Pelayo Sanchez, and Joel Nicolau.

Herrada reaches the summit of the Puerto de Tollos ahead of De Gendt. The Flemish breakaway specialist heads out alone on descent to put 1.30 minute into the chasers and 5.30 minutes into the peloton.

De Gendt crests the Puerto de Benifallim 40 seconds ahead of the first chasers, Tiberi, Romo, Lazkano, Costa and Rodriguez, before the six come together on descent.

The initial breakaway regroups on the Puerto de Carrasqueta. Lazkano, Caruso, Kron en Costa leave their companions behind after the summit. The four enter the Xorret de Catí 30 seconds before the Jumbo-Visma led peloton.

While Lazkano and Costa are the last attackers to be reeled in, red jersey Martinez loses contact in the climb. Kuss strikes with 5 kilometres to go. Evenepoel closes down the gap with Roglic, Vingegaard, Mas, Ayuso, Soler and Almeida in his wheels.

Roglic outsprints Evenepoel and Ayuso after a fast descent, while Kuss comes home in seventh place to take the red jersey.

Another interesting read: route 8th stage 2023 Vuelta.

Vuelta a España 2023 stage 8: route, profile, more

Click on the images to zoom

Primoz Roglic

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Favourites stage 8: For punchy descenders - Vuelta 2023 The Route - Vuelta 2023 Riders - Vuelta 2023 Withdrawals - Vuelta 2023 Results - Vuelta 2023 Welcome to Cycling Paradise Andorra GC Favourites - Vuelta 2023
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!