Tour of the Basque Country: Winners and records

Jonas Vingegaard itzulia - Tour of the Basque Country: Winners and recordsimage: Cor VosThe Tour of the Basque Country is a stage race dating back to 1924, therefore it is one of the oldest stage races on the calendar. The route is marked by many sharp climbs so it’s a treat to the mountain goats in the peloton. brings you recent winners and records.

Recent winners Tour of the Basque Country

2024: ?
2023: Jonas Vingegaard (den)
2022: Daniel Felipe Martínez (col)
2021: Primoz Roglic (slo)
2020: cancelled
2019: Ion Izagirre (spa)
2018: Primoz Roglic (slo)
2017: Alejandro Valverde (spa)
2016: Alberto Contador (spa)
2015: Joaquim Rodriguez (spa)
2014: Alberto Contador (spa)

Records in the Tour of the Basque Country

Spaniards José Antonio González and Alberto Contador hold the record with four GC wins. Gonzalez powered to overall victory in 1972, 1975, 1977 and 1978, while El Pistolero evened the score in 2016 after his earlier wins in 2008, 2009 and 2014.

Tony Rominger is a three time victor. He did so on three consecutive occasions (1992-1994).

Spaniards took by far the most wins in the Basque Country, but it was not until the 7th edition the first Spanish victory was a fact. The first six editions were won by Belgians (three times), French (two times) and one Luxembourger.

Joaquim RodriguezAlberto ContadorNairo QuintanaAlejandro ValverdeIon IzagirrePrimoz RoglicDaniel Felipe MartínezJonas Vingegaard

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Leave a comment
No comments yet, your opinion is most welcome.

Related articles

More articles