Tour of Qatar: Winners and records

The Tour of Qatar has been in existence since 2002. During the first few years, the race didn't peak the interest of the top cyclists, but this has since changed with riders seeing Qatar as ideal preparation for the classics. Former World Champions Tom Boonen and Mark Cavendish have the most stage victories with Boonen also winning the overall on four occasions. (Slideshow route/profile)

Winners Tour of Qatar

2016: Mark Cavendish (gbr)
2015: Niki Terpstra (nld)
2014: Niki Terpstra (nld)
2013: Mark Cavendish (gbr)
2012: Tom Boonen (bel)
2011: Mark Renshaw (aus)
2010: Wouter Mol (nld)
2009: Tom Boonen (bel)
2008: Tom Boonen (bel)
2007: Wilfried Cretskens (bel)
2006: Tom Boonen (bel)
2005: Lars Michaelsen (den)
2004: Robert Hunter (rsa)
2003: Alberto Loddo (ita)
2002: Thorsten Wilhelms (ger)

Records in the Tour of Qatar

Tom Boonen has 22 stage victories in Qatar and is a four time GC winner.

As far as stage wins are concerned, Mark Cavendish is next in line with 9 victories.

Tom Boonen, Niki Terpstra and Mark Cavendish are the only riders to win the GC more than once.

Tour of Qatar 2017: Route, Google Maps and more

Click on the images to zoom

Mark CavendishTom BoonenNiki Terpstra

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles

More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!