Tour of Lombardy 2022: Pogacar outsprints Mas in Como

Tadej pogacar Lombardia - Tour of Lombardy 2022: Pogacar outsprints Mas in Comofoto: Cor VosTadej Pogacar, Enric Mas and Mike Landa distance the field in the Civiglio climb. The first two leave the Basque behind in the ast climb of the day before Pogacar sprints to his second consecutive victory in Il Lombardia. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 2022 Tour of Lombardy

1. Tadej Pogacar (slo)
2. Enric Mas (spa) s.t.
3. Mikel Landa (spa) + 0.10
4. Sergio Higuita (col) + 0.52
5. Carlos Rodriguez (spa) s.t.
6. Alejandro Valverde (spa) + 1.24
7. Bauke Mollema (nld) s.t.
8. Rudy Molard (fra) s.t.
9. Romain Bardet (fra) s.t.
10. Adam Yates (gbr) + 1.26

Race report
Christian Scaroni, Alex Tolio and Simone Ravanelli escape in the flat run-up to the Forcella di Bianzano. Kamil Malecki, Luca Covili, Fernando Barcelò, Natnael Tesfatsion, Davide Bais, Alessandro De Marchi, Lawson Craddock and Kenny Elissonde rejoin them in the climb.

Malecki and Barcelò can’t follow the pace, while Aurélien Paret-Peintre takes their place at the front on the Passo di Ganda. The ten carev out a lead of almost 6 minutes.

The attackers are brought back just before the Madonna del Ghisallo and the peloton remains bunched until the finishing circuit.

Pogacar attacks in the Civiglio climb, with 19 kilometres to go. Only Mas is able to follow his move. Landa reaches the summit 10 seconds after the duo, while the other chasers are 30 seconds behind.

Landa makes it three on descent. The Basque is dropped when Mas accelerates in the climb to San Fermo della Battaglia.

Mas and Pogacar enter the downhill into Como together, where the Slovene sprints to a commanding victory.

Other interesting reads: route and start list 2022 Tour of Lombardy.

Tour of Lombardy 2022: routes, profiles, more

Click on the images to zoom

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Overview - Tour of Lombardy 20 History of the Tour of Lombardy
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!