Tour de Suisse 2021: Bissegger wins three-up sprint, Van der Poel still leader

stefan bissegger suisse - Tour de Suisse 2021: Bissegger wins three-up sprint, Van der Poel still leaderimage: Cor VosAfter a frantic first half of the race a breakaway of four - Joel Suter, Benjamin Thomas, Joe Rosskopf, Stefan Bissegger - takes the reins. The latter three ride the finale before Bissegger sprints to victory in the 4th stage of the Tour de Suisse. Mathieu van der Poel stays in the race lead. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 4th stage Tour de Suisse 2021

1. Stefan Bissegger (swi)
2. Benjamin Thomas (fra) s.t.
3. Joey Rosskopf (usa) s.t.
4. Joel Suter (swi) + 0.23
5. Edward Theuns (bel) + 5.16
6. Juan Sebastián Molano (col) s.t.
7. Omar Fraile (spa) s.t.
8. Mike Teunissen (nld) s.t.
9. Fred Wright (gbr) s.t.
10. Michael Matthews (aus) s.t.

GC after stage 4
1. Mathieu van der Poel (nld)
2. Julian Alaphilippe (fra) + 0.01
3. Stefan Küng (swi) + 0.04
4. Maximilian Schachmann (ger) + 0.06
5. Mattia Cattaneo (ita) + 0.13
6. Iván García (spa) + 0.16
7. Richard Carapaz (ecu) + 0.17
8. Neilson Powless (usa) + 0.29
9. Andreas Kron (den) + 0.37
10. Stefan Bissegger (swi) + 0.38

11. Rigoberto Uran (col) s.t.
12. Jakob Fuglsang (den) s.t.
19. Tiesj Benoot (bel)+ 0.59
21. Michael Woods (can) + 1.04
23. Sam Oomen (nld) s.t.
25. Marc Soler (spa) + 1.10
31. Esteban Chaves (col) + 1.40

Race report
After almost one hour of frantic racing Edward Theuns initiates a promising attack. Antwan Tolhoek, Marcus Burghardt, Jelle Wallays, Hugo Houle, Simon Pellaud and Jake Stewart go with him, although the latter can’t follow the pace. The other six put almost 2 minutes into the peloton before Alpecin-Fenix brings it down to 1 minute, which inspires Rohan Dennis and nine other riders to bridge across. Moments later the peloton regroups.

Benjamin Thomas, Joe Rosskopf and Joel Suter are the first riders to open up a gap of more than 2 minutes. Stefan Bissegger tracks them down and the four widen their lead to 7 minutes.

Movistar brings the gap down to under 6 minutes, but as no one supports the chase they give up and the lead widens to 8 minutes.

On the last climb of the day, Saanenmöser, Suter loses contact, while Thomas strikes just before the summit. Rosskopf and Bissegger bring him back on the plateau at the top.

Bissegger neutralises all attacks before storming to victory on Saanen airport in Gstaad. Van der Poel crosses the line in the peloton, 5.16 minutes after the race winner, to stay in the overall race lead.

Another interesting read: route 4th stage 2021 Tour de Suisse.

Tour de Suisse 2021 stage 4: route, profile, more

Click on the images to zoom

Stefan Bissegger

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Leave a comment
No comments yet, your opinion is most welcome.

Related articles
GC Favourites - Tour de Suisse 20 Overview - Tour de Suisse 20 Winners and records - Tour de Suisse Mäder outsprints Woods, Carapaz seals GC triumph - Tour de Suisse 20 Uran wins ITT, Carapaz keeps yellow jersey - Tour de Suisse 20 Stage 7: Start times ITT - Tour de Suisse 20 Kron wins from the breakaway, Carapaz stays in yellow - Tour de Suisse 20 Carapaz outsprints Fuglsang to take race lead - Tour de Suisse 20 Van der Poel powers to second consecutive win and race lead - Tour de Suisse 20 Van der Poel wins thrilling finale, Küng holds on to race lead - Tour de Suisse 20 Küng wins Frauenfeld ITT to take race lead - Tour de Suisse 20 Stage 1: Start times ITT - Tour de Suisse 20 Route stage 1: ITT in Frauenfeld - Tour de Suisse 20 Route stage 2: Neuhausen - Lachen - Tour de Suisse 20 Route stage 3: Lachen - Pfaffnau - Tour de Suisse 20 Route stage 5: Gstaad - Leukerbad - Tour de Suisse 20 Route stage 6: Andermatt - Sedrun - Tour de Suisse 20
More articles