Tour de France 2020: Kwiatkowski wins last mountain stage, Roglic still leader

Team mates Michal Kwiatkowski and Richard Carapaz finish together in the 18th stage of the Tour de France. The Pole takes the stage win, while Primoz Roglic retains the yellow jersey. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 18th stage Tour de France 2020

1. Michal Kwiatkowski (pol)
2. Richard Carapaz (ecu) s.t.
3. Wout van Aert (bel) + 1.51
4. Primoz Roglic (slo) + 1.53
5. Tadej Pogacar (slo) s.t.
6. Richie Porte (aus) + 1.54
7. Enric Mas (spa) s.t.
8. Mikel Landa (spa) s.t.
9. Damiano Caruso (ita) s.t.
10. Tom Dumoulin (nld) s.t.

GC after stage 18
1. Primoz Roglic (slo)
2. Tadej Pogacar (slo) + 0.57
3. Miguel Ángel López (col) + 1.27
4. Richie Porte (aus) + 3.06
5. Mikel Landa (spa) + 3.28
6. Enric Mas (spa) + 4.19
7. Adam Yates (gbr) + 5.55
8. Rigoberto Uran (col) + 6.05
9. Tom Dumoulin (nld) + 7.24
10. Alejandro Valverde (spa) + 12.12

Race report
De Gendt initiates a big breakaway. In the last kilometres of the Cormet de Roselend the lead group has been halved when Damiano Caruso tracks the leaders down. The remaining attackers are Thomas De Gendt, Richard Carapaz, Michal Kwiatkowski, Nans Peters, Bob Jungels, Rudy Molard, Pello Bilbao, Dario Cataldo, Nelson Oliveira, Carlos Verona, Simon Geschke, Nicolas Edet, Jesús Herrada, Luis León Sánchez, Marc Hirschi and Nicholas Roche.

Carapaz and Hirschi sprint for the KOM points and push on in the descent. Bilbao, Kwiatkowski and Edet rejoin them on the Côte de la route des Villes. Hirschi seizes most points on both climbs.

On the Col des Saisies, Edet can’t follow the pace in the lead group. Hirschi is the first rider over the summit before he goes down in the descent.

The Swiss rider tries to restore contact on the Col des Aravis. He almost makes it back before the gap widens again. He crests the Aravis 1 minute after his breakaway companions.

On the early slopes of the Montée du plateau des Glières team mates Poels and Landa break clear in the peloton. Landa pushes on alone, while Bilbao drops back in the lead group.

Yates can’t follow the pace in the yellow jersey group.

Kwiatkowski and Carapaz reach the summit 1 minute ahead of Bilbao, while the peloton brings back Landa just before the top. Pogacar is the first to enter the gravel sector 6 minutes behind the two leaders. Porte drops back on the unpaved road.

With five, Roglic, Pogacar, López, Landa and Mas hit the tarmac and Kuss bridges across shortly. A group with Porte and Dumoulin bridges across on the last uphill with 11 kilometres out.

Carapaz and Kwiatkowski cross the line shoulder to shoulder. The Pole wins the race, while Roglic retains the maillot jaune.

Other interesting reads:
KOM classification
points classification

Tour de France 2020 stage 18: routes, profiles, more

Click on the images to zoom

Michal Kwiatkowski

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Favourites stage 18: Heroism on unpaved roads - Tour de France 2020 The Route - Tour de France 2020 Riders - Tour de France 2020 Withdrawals - Tour de France 2020 Results - Tour de France 2020 GC Favourites - Tour de France 2020
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!