Tour de France 2019: Sprint win Van Aert in echelon-marked race, Alaphilippe still leader

The Tour de France serves an undulating route of 217.5 kilometres on the tenth day of action. Echelons split the peloton in the last 35 kilometres before Wout Van Aert sprints to victory. Julian Alaphilippe stays in yellow, while Thibaut Pinot and Jakob Fuglsang lose time. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 10th stage Tour de France 2019

1. Wout Van Aert (bel)
2. Elia Viviani (ita) s.t.
3. Caleb Ewan (aus) s.t.
4. Michael Matthews (aus) s.t.
5. Peter Sagan (svk) s.t.
6. Jasper Philipsen (bel) s.t.
7. Sonny Colbrelli (ita) s.t.
8. Matteo Trentin (ita) s.t.
9. Oliver Naesen (bel) s.t.
10. Greg Van Avermaet (bel) s.t.

12. Geraint Thomas (gbr) s.t.
14. Egan Bernal (col) + s.t.
18. Steven Kruijswijk (nld) s.t.
19. Enric Mas (spa) s.t.
20. Romain Bardet (fra) s.t.
21. Nairo Quintana (col) s.t.
22. Emanuel Buchmann (ger) s.t.
23. Adam Yates (gbr) s.t.
25. Daniel Martin (irl) s.t.
44. Bauke Mollema (nld) + 1.40
45. Thibaut Pinot s.t.
48. Rigoberto Uran (col) s.t.
49. Richie Porte (aus) s.t.
51. Jakob Fuglsang (den) s.t.
55. Mikel Landa (spa) + 2.09
57. Giulio Ciccone (ita) s.t.
132. George Bennett (nzl) + 9.41

GC after stage 10
1. Julian Alaphilippe (fra)
2. Geraint Thomas (gbr) + 1.12
3. Egan Bernal (col) + 1.16
4. Steven Kruijswijk (nld) + 1.27
5. Emanuel Buchmann (ger) + 1.45
6. Enric Mas (spa) + 1.46
7. Adam Yates (gbr) + 1.47
8. Nairo Quintana (col) + 2.04
9. Daniel Martin (irl) + 2.09
10. Giulio Ciccone (ita) + 2.32

11. Thibaut Pinot (fra) + 2.33
13. Rigoberto Uran (col) + 3.18
15. Romain Bardet (fra) + 3.20
16. Jakob Fuglsang (den) + 3.22
20. Richie Porte (aus) + 3.59
21. Mikel Landa (spa) + 4.15
22. Bauke Mollema (nld) + 4.25
27. George Bennett (nzl) + 11.11

Race report
Turgis, Berhane, Eiking, Würtz Schmidt and Gallopin open up a gap after 4 kilometres. Schär tracks them down before the six widen the gap to 3 minutes.

With 35 kilometres remaining the peloton speeds up in the crosswinds. A lot of riders lose contact. Among them Groenewegen, Teunissen, Fuglsang, Bennett, Ciccone, Pinot, Uran, Porte, Aru and Nibali. The first echelon gobbles up the lead group and while the Pinot group almost restore contact the gap widens again in a nail-biter of a finale. Landa goes down and he is also forced to chase. Still, the gap widens ad widens…

Van Aert bests Viviani on the line with an ultimate jump and Ewan crosses the line in third.

Alaphilippe stays in yellow and Thomas and Bernal move up to second and third. Pinot, Porte, Uran and Fuglsang lose 1.40 minutes.

Another interesting read: route 10th stage 2019 Tour de France.

Tour de France 2019 stage 10: route, profile, more

Click on the images to zoom

Wout van Aert

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
The Route - Tour de France 2019 Riders - Tour de France 2019 Withdrawals - Tour de France 2019 Results - Tour de France 2019 GC Favourites - Tour de France 2019 Visit the Tour de France
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!