Tour de France 2018 Stage 9: John Degenkolb wins three-up sprint in Roubaix, Greg Van Avermaet extends GC lead

The riders bounce over fifteen stretches of pavé in the Tour de France's 9th stage. John Degenkolb, Yves Lampaert and Greg Van Avermaet attack on the penultimate cobbled sector before Degenkolb sprints to victory. Van Avermaet cements his overall lead, while Richie Porte crashes out of the race. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 9th stage 2018 Tour de France

1. John Degenkolb (ger)
2. Greg Van Avermaet (bel) s.t.
3. Yves Lampaert (bel) s.t.
4. Philippe Gilbert (bel) + 0.19
5. Peter Sagan (svk) s.t.
6. Jasper Stuyven (bel) s.t.
7. Bob Jungels (lux) s.t.
8. André Greipel (ger) + 0.27
9. Edvald Boasson Hagen (nor) s.t.
10. Timothy Dupont (bel) s.t.

16. Geraint Thomas (gbr) s.t.
18. Alejandro Valverde (spa) s.t.
19. Tom Dumoulin (nld) s.t.
20. Steven Kruijswijk (nld) s.t.
21. Bauke Mollema (nld) s.t.
22. Chris Froome (gbr) s.t.
23. Vincenzo Nibali (ita) s.t.
24. Nairo Quintana (col) s.t.
26. Primoz Roglic (slo) s.t.
27. Adam Yates (gbr) s.t.
29. Ilnur Zakarin (rus) s.t.
30. Rafal Majka (pol) s.t.
31. Jakob Fuglsang (den) s.t.
32. Daniel Martin (irl) s.t.
35. Mikel Landa (spa) + 0.34
36. Romain Bardet (fra) s.t.
59. Rigoberto Uran (col) + 1.55

GC after the 9th stage
1. Greg Van Avermaet (bel)
2. Geraint Thomas (gbr) + 0.43
3. Philippe Gilbert (bel) + 0.44
4. Bob Jungels (lux) + 0.50
5. Alejandro Valverde (spa) + 1.31
6. Rafal Majka (pol) + 1.32
7. Jakob Fuglsang (den) + 1.33
8. Chris Froome (gbr) + 1.42
9. Adam Yates (gbr) s.t.
10. Mikel Landa (spa) s.t.

12. Vincenzo Nibali (ita) + 1.48
13. Primoz Roglic (slo) + 1.57
14. Bauke Mollema (nld) + 1.58
15. Tom Dumoulin (nld) + 2.03
16. Steven Kruijswijk (nld) + 2.06
17. Romain Bardet (fra) + 2.32
19. Ilnur Zakarin (rus) + 2.42
21. Nairo Quintana (col) + 2.50
22. Rigoberto Uran (col) + 2.53
24. Daniel Martin (irl) + 3.22

Race report
Thomas De Gendt, Antwan Tolhoek, Omar Fraile, Jérôme Cousin and Damien Gaudin early on. Richie Porte hits the deck at km 10 and is forced to abandon with a broken collarbone.

Lilian Calmejane, Chad Haga, Reinardt Janse van Rensburg, Olivier Le Gac and Nicolas Edet track the front group down and with a lead of more than 3 minutes the ten hit the first cobbled sector. Tolhoek punctures in the front group, Romain Bardet in the peloton. The Dutch rider is dropped, the Frenchman makes it back to the pack.

On sector 7 the front group’s lead has fallen to 1 minute when Greg Van Avermaet kicks in the main group. Romain Bardet is once again plagued by a mechanical, while Tejay van Garderen crashes at the beginning of this stretch of pavé. Chris Froome goes down and is forced to chase with Tom Dumoulin. They rejoin the bunch, as does Bardet.

Heading for sector 11 Gaudin and Janse van Rensburg are the last men at the front. Mikel Landa hits the tarmac when he touches Steven Kruijswijk’s wheel. Rigobert Uran is also chasing.

Jasper Stuyven bridges across to the two leaders after sector 13. Moments later they are reeled in.

On the penultimate sector Degenkolb, Van Avermaet and Lampaert attack. They hit the last cobbles with a lead of 48 seconds. Bardet punctures again, and he joins the group Landa.

Philippe Gilbert, Peter Sagan, Jasper Stuyven and Bob Jungels go after the three leaders in the last kms, but it’s too late to fight for the stage win.

In the streets of Roubaix Degenkolb opens the sprint and powers to victory ahead of Van Avermaet and Lampaert. The maillot jaune extends his lead due to time bonuses.

Landa and Bardet cross the line 7 seconds after the main group with GC contenders, while Uran loses 1.28 to his rivals and drops to 22nd place on GC.

Read also: route 9th stage 2018 Tour de France.

Tour de France 2018 stage 9: Route maps, height profiles, and more

Click on the images to zoom

John Degenkolb

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Riders - Tour de France 20 Withdrawals - Tour de France 20 Results - Tour de France 20 GC Favourites - Tour de France 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!