Paris - Roubaix 2017: Van Avermaet outsprints Stybar and Langeveld on Roubaix Velodrome

At 257 kilometres, Paris-Roubaix takes in a daunting gauntlet of 55 kilometres on cobbles. After a decisive move on Carrefour de l’Arbre Van Avermaet outsprints his fellow-escapees Stybar and Langeveld in Roubaix Velodrome . (Slideshow route/profile)

Results Paris-Roubaix 2017

1. Greg Van Avermaet (bel)
2. Zdenek Stybar (cze) s.t.
3. Sebastian Langeveld (nld) s.t.
4. Jasper Stuyven (bel) s.t.
5. Gianni Moscon (ita) s.t.
6. Arnaud Démare (fra) + 0.12
7. André Greipel (ger) s.t.
8. Edward Theuns (bel) s.t.
9. Adrien Petit (fra) s.t.
10. John Degenkolb (ger) s.t.

Race report
Jelle Wallays, Mickael Delage and Yannick Martinez are the first riders to hit the first stretch of pavé, Troisvilles à Inchy. Their gain never exceeds 1 minute, while Martinez is dropped.

After sector 24 Stijn Vanderbergh re-joins Wallays and Delage. Former winner Terpstra abandons following a crash.

On the sector before the Trouée d’Arenberg Van Avermaet is forced to chase afer a bike-change and he hits the Trouée half a minute down the main group.

After the Trouée Chavanel replaces Vandenbergh in the front group, while the group Van Avermaet chases down the peloton before sector 17. Shortly after leaving the pavé Peter Sagan goes on the attack and Oss, Bodnar and Stuyven jump to his wheel. Sagan punctures and along with his team mate Bodnar he is caught by the main group.

On Mons-en-Pévèle Claeys, Moscon and Roelandts chase Oss and Stuyven down. Sagan attacks in the peloton and Stybar jumps to his wheel before eight more riders hook up. With 40 kms left they re-join the front group.

Oss attacks on the next stretch of pavé. Langeveld tries to bridge the gap, while Roelandts, Stybar and Sagan chase him down. The World Champion punctures and Van Avermaet, Stuyven and Moscon hook up with the chasing group. They bring back Oss with 25 kms remaining.

Van Avermaet accelerates on Carrefour de l’Arbre with Stybar and Langeveld on his wheel. That’s the decisive move and the trio widens the gaps to Stuven and Moscon. Surprisingly, the two re-join the leaders when rounding onto the final lap in Roubaix Velodrome, yet the chase has been tapping their resources and Van Avermaet outsprints Stybar and Langeveld.

Read about the route of Paris-Roubaix 2017.

Paris-Roubaix 2017: Route maps, and more

Click on the images to zoom

Greg van Avermaet

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Overview - Paris - Roubaix 2017
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!