Omloop Het Nieuwsblad: Winners and records

Dylan van Baarle - Omloop Het Nieuwsblad: Winners and recordsimage: Cor VosFirst held in 1945, Omloop het Nieuwsblad marks the start of the European classics season. brings you the records and recent winners.

Recent winners Omloop Het Nieuwsblad

2023: Dylan van Baarle (nld)
2022: Wout van Aert (bel)
2021: Davide Ballerini (ita)
2020: Jasper Stuyven (bel)
2019: Zdenek Stybar (cze)
2018: Michael Valgren (den)
2017: Greg Van Avermaet (bel)
2016: Greg Van Avermaet (bel)
2015: Ian Stannard (gbr)
2014: Ian Stannard (gbr)

Omloop Het Nieuwsblad records

The first fourteen editions were all won by Belgian riders. Since then they added 42 more wins, making Belgium record holder with 56 victories. The last Belgian winner was Jasper Stuyven (2020).

Ian Stannard took the race both in 2014 and 2015. The Briton is the only non-Belgian rider winning the Omloop twice.

While thirteen Belgians did win the race twice, only three Belgians were able to do so on three occasions: Ernest Sterckx (1952, ’53, ’56), Joseph Bruyère (1974, ’75, ’80) and Peter Van Petegem (1997, ’98, 2002).

Greg Van Avermaet and Philippe Gilbert are the only two-time winners who are still active in the peloton.

Philippe GilbertZdenek StybarGreg van AvermaetJasper StuyvenSep VanmarckeMichael ValgrenDylan van BaarleWout van AertDavide Ballerini

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Favourites - Omloop Het Nieuwsblad 2023 Overview - Omloop Het Nieuwsblad 2023
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!