Omloop Het Nieuwsblad 2017: Van Avermaet outsprints Sagan and Vanmarcke

The Omloop het Nieuwsblad totals almost 200 kilometres and takes in thirteen climbs and a shitload of cobbles. With 60 kilometres left, the race ignites on the Taaienberg and Peter Sagan, Greg Van Avermaet and Sep Vanmarcke battle out the finale. The Olympic Champions outsprints the World Champion, while Vanmarcke finishes in third (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 2017 Omloop Het Nieuwsblad

1. Greg Van Avermaet (bel)
2. Peter Sagan (svk) s.t.
3. Sep Vanmarcke (bel) s.t.
4. Fabio Felline (ita) + 0.43
5. Oscar Gatto (ita) + 0.50
6. Luke Rowe (gbr) s.t.
7. Oliver Naesen (bel) s.t.
8. Jasper Stuyven (bel) s.t.
9. Matteo Trentin (ita) s.t.
10. Adrien Petit (fra) s.t.

Race report
It takes more than 50 kms for a successful break to take shape when Gediminas Bagdonas and Justin Jules join forces. Preben Van Hecke, Leigh Howard, Mike Teunissen and Brian van Goethem join them after a long chase. The front group races to a maximum gap of 8 minutes. Guillaume Boivin, Andrej Grivko, Alexis Cougeard and Thomas Boudat try to bridge over, but to no avail.

A crash in the peloton shortly before the Taaienberg is the perfect tonic to ignite the race.

Van Avermaet, Sagan, Vanmarcke and Cougeard chase the leaders down to bridge over before the Leberg. A group with Stannard and Stuyven is chasing.

After the last climb up the Molenberg a group of five is left upfront: Teunissen, Jules, Van Avermaet, Sagan, and Vanmarcke. Jules and Teunissen are dropped after the Paddestraat.

A group with Rowe, Stuyven and Gilbert is half a minute down on the leaders without getting closer.

The 2017 Omloop Het Nieuwsblad boils down to a sprint-à-trois with Greg Van Avermaet besting Peter Sagan and Sep Vanmarcke.

Read more about the route of the Omloop Het Nieuwsblad 2017.

Omloop Het Nieuwsblad 2017: Route maps, height profiles, and more

Click on the images to zoom

Greg van Avermaet

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Overview - Omloop Het Nieuwsblad 2017
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!