Omloop Het Nieuwsblad 2016: Van Avermaet bests Sagan in thrilling finale

At 200.8 kilometres, Omloop het Nieuwsblad contains 13 hills and a number of cobbled sectors. Luke Rowe and Greg Van Avermaet attack at Taaienberg with 50 kilometres left. Benoot and Sagan join them to spice up the finale. In the end Van Avermaet powers to the win, besting Sagan and Benoot in the sprint. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results Omloop het Nieuwsblad

1. Greg Van Avermaet (bel)
2. Peter Sagan (Svk) s.t.
3. Tiesj Benoot (bel) s.t.
4. Luke Rowe (gbr) s.t.
5. Alexis Gougeard (fra) + 0.06
6. Jens Debusschere (bel) + 0.09
7. Adrien Petit (fra) s.t.
8. Jasper Stuyven (bel) s.t.
10. Matthieu Ladagnous (fra) s.t.

Race report
The breakaway is a fact when Gougeard, Morice, House, van Goethem, Farazijn, Van Melsen, Van Zummeren and Reus join forces. Dempster, Hofstetter, Jarrier and D’haene bridge the gap and the twelve riders race to a maximum lead of 5’40” with 25 kms done. Then the pack takes control to keep the gap lingering at 5 minutes.

Hofstetter is dropped at the Kruisberg, while Kai reus goes solo at the cobbles of the Donderij. Gougeard, Morice and D’haene join him. In the meantime the pack is closing in.

At Taaienberg Van Avermaet, Rowe and Benoot attack, while Sagan bridges the gap. Shortly they gobble up the remains of the former front group.

With 40 kms left Reus and Gougard are the last escapees to be caught by the group Sagan/Van Avermaet. A chasing peloton is 1 minute adrift and it’s only when it’s too late they close in on the leaders.

On the uphill arrival Greg Van Avermaet hits out first and even Sagan isn’t able to react. Bam! First 2016 victory for the Belgian rider.

Omloop Het Nieuwsblad 2016: Route maps, height profiles, and more

Click on the images to zoom

Greg van Avermaet

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Overview - Omloop Het Nieuwsblad 2016
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!