Grand Prix Cycliste de Montréal 2022: Pogacar wins five-up sprint

Tadej pogacar - Grand Prix Cycliste de Montréal 2022: Pogacar wins five-up sprintfoto: Cor VosAdam Yates, Tadej Pogacar, Andrea Bagioli, David Gaudu and Wout van Aert head out together in the last lap of the GP de Montréal. The double Tour de France winner outguns his rivals in the perfect test ahead of the road race at the Worlds in Wollongong, Australia.

Results 2022 Grand Prix de Montréal

1. Tadej Pogacar (slo)
2. Wout van Aert (bel) s.t.
3. Andrea Bagioli (ita) s.t.
4. Adam Yates (gbr) + 0.01
5. David Gaudu (fra) + 0.02
6. Mauro Schmid (swi) + 0.22
7. Giovanni Aleotti (ita) s.t.
8. Romain Bardet (fra) + 0.23
9. Pello Bilbao (spa) + 0.28
10. Warren Barguil (fra) + 0.31

Race report
Antoine Duchesne, Théo Delacroix, Florian Vermeersch, Andreas Leknessund, Eddy Finé and Antonio Nibali are the breakaway riders. The six open up a lead of more than 6 minutes.

Leknessund goes solo in the last 50 kilometres. The young Norwegian is caught early in the penultimate lap. Simone Velasco and Frederik Wandahl break clear to open a 1 minute gap.

The favourites catch the duo on the Côte Camillien-Houde. Yates, Pogacar, Gaudu, Bagioli and Van Aert push on with five.

The GP de Montréal comes down to the 500 metres long uphill strech after the U-turn on Avenue du Parc. Gaudu opens the sprint, turning himself into a perfect launch pad for Pogacar. The Slovene takes a chance. He could serve as a kind of lead-out for Van Aert, who aims to do just that. But the Belgian lacks the punch to come around. So Pogacar wins the race ahead of van Aert with Bagioli in third.

Another interesting read: route 2022 Grand Prix Cycliste de Montréal.

Tadej Pogacar

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles

Grand Prix Cycliste de Montréal 2022: route, profile, more