Giro 2018 Stage 12: Bennet sprints to second win, Yates still in pink

At 214 kilometres, stage 12 of the Giro d'Italia runs from Osimo to Imola. In pouring rain Elia Viviani is dropped at the Enzo e Dino Ferrari race-track and Sam Bennet sprints to victory ahead of Danny van Poppel. Simon Yates retains the overall leader. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 12th stage 2018 Tour de France

1. Sam Bennett (irl)
2. Danny van Poppel (nld) s.t.
3. Niccolo Bonifazio (ita) s.t.
4. Baptiste Planckaert (bel) s.t.
5. Jurgen Roelandts (bel) s.t.
6. Michael Mørkøv (den) s.t.
7. Mauel Belletti (ita) s.t.
8. Clement Venturini (fra) s.t.
9. Florian Senechal (fra) s.t.
10. Enrico Battaglin (ita) s.t.

GC after the 12th stage
1. Simon Yates (gbr)
2. Tom Dumoulin (nld) + 0.47
3. Thibaut Pinot (fra) + 1.04
4. Domenico Pozzovivo (ita) + 1.18
5. Richard Carapaz (ecu) + 1.56
6. George Bennett (nzl) + 2.09
7. Rohan Dennis (aus) + 2.36
8. Pello Bilbao (spa) + 2.54
9. Patrick Konrad (aut) + 2.55
10. Fabio Aru (ita) + 3.10

11. Miguel Ángel López (col) + 3.17
12. Chris Froome (gbr) + 3.20
13. Ben O’Connor (aus) + 3.25
14. Carlos Betancur (col) + 3.29
15. Sam Oomen (nld) + 3.40
16. Michael Woods (can) + 3.43
19. Sergio Henao (col) + 5.08
23. Wout Poels (nld) + 6.49

Race report
Shortly after the start Frapporti, Maestri, Senni, Mosca and Zhupa jump clear of the front of the peloton. They race to a lead of more than 4 minutes before the peloton takes them on a leash.

With 30 kms remaining it’s raining cats and dogs and the peloton ups the pace. The leaders are caught, while Richard Caravaz, Domenico Pozzovivo, Miguel Ángel López, George Bennett and Elia Viviani wind up behind a split in the peloton. Following a hectic chase the GC-riders regroup.

Tim Wellens goes solo with 20 kms to go. He enters the race-circuit with a 10 seconds lead, yet he is brought back on the last climb. Henao and Lammertink go on the counter-attack, but they can’t distance the main group. A Rohan Dennis attack is neutralized, too.

Ulissi is the first rider over the top and Betancur jumps across. Mohoric rejoins them with 4.5 kms left. Ulissi loses contact and the other two pass the flamme rouge with a 4 seconds lead.

Bennett decides to go early. He produces a 400 metres long sprint, overhauls Mohoric and Betancur, and powers to an impressive victory. Van Poppel comes in second, a few bike lengths back.

Simon Yates finishes safely in the bunch to retain in the maglia rosa.

Read also: route 12th stage 2018 Giro d’Italia.

Giro d’Italia 2018 stage 12: Route maps, height profiles, and more

Click on the images to zoom

Sam Bennett

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Riders - Giro 20 Withdrawals - Giro 20 Results - Giro 20 Favourites - Giro 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!