Giro 2017: Gorka Izagirre wins spectacle race, Jungels still in pink

The 8th stage takes in a tough climb halfway to lead to a challenging finale. The race brings spectacle from start to finish, while Gorka Izagirre climbs to victory in the punchy last kilometre. Giovanni Visconti comes in second, Luis León Sánchez in third. Bob Jungels retains in the overall lead. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 8th stage 2017 Giro

1. Gorka Izagirre (spa)
2. Giovanni Visconti (ita) + 0.05
3. Luis León Sánchez (spa) + 0.10
4. Enrico Battaglin (ita) + 0.12
5. Michael Woods (can) s.t.
6. Thibaut Pinot (fra) s.t.
7. Vincenzo Nibali (ita) s.t.
8. Adam Yates (gbr) s.t.
9. Steven Kruijswijk (nld) s.t.
10. Bob Jungels (lux) s.t.

11. Geraint Thomas (gbr) s.t.
12. Tom Dumoulin (nld) s.t.
13. Mikel Landa (spa) s.t.
15. Wilco Kelderman (nld) s.t.
16. Nairo Quintana (col) s.t.
17. Andrey Amador (crc) s.t.
18. Bauke Mollema (nld) s.t.
19. Tejay van Garderen (usa) s.t.
22. Ilnur Zakarin (rus) s.t.

GC after 8th stage
1. Bob Jungels (lux)
2. Geraint Thomas (gbr) + 0.06
3. Adam Yates (gbr) + 0.10
4. Vincenzo Nibali (ita) s.t.
5. Domenico Pozzovivo (ita) s.t.
6. Tom Dumoulin (nld) s.t.
7. Nairo Quintana (col) s.t.
8. Bauke Mollema (nld) s.t.
9. Andrey Amador (crc) s.t.
10. Thibaut Pinot (fra) s.t.

11. Tejay van Garderen (usa) s.t.
12. Mikel Landa (spa) s.t.
13. Davide Formolo (ita) s.t.
14. Ilnur Zakarin (rus) + 0.14
15. Steven Kruijswijk (nld) + 0.23
16. Wilco Kelderman (nld) s.t.

Race report
Many attacks after the start, but it takes almost 50 kms for a break that sticks. Barta, Keisse, De Buyst, Samoilau, Ferrari, Juul-Jensen, Maestri, Didier, Sbaragli, Kuznetsov, Paterski, Howes and Albanese are on board, while Pöstlberger, Mühlberger en Luis León Sanchez chase them down. The 16 riders race to a lead of more than 2 minutes before Gazprom and Wilier Triestina start chasing in the peloton. At the base of Monte Sant’Angelo – 9.5 kilometres at 6.1% – the gap is down to 1 minute and Samoilau and Sánchez leave their companions. Halfway up the climb the Spaniard heads out on his own.

Vilella, Viconti and Conti cross over to a chasing group with De Buyst, Samoilau, Sbaragli, Pöstlberger and Mühlberger. De Buyst is dropped, while Chevrier and Amezqueta escape from the pack.

At the top Sánchez is 1 minute ahead of Vilella, Viconti, Conti, Samoilau, Sbaragli, Pöstlberger and Mühlberger, while Chevrier and Amezqueta are close behind the chasers. The peloton is 2 minutes in arrears. In the drop Izagirre (Gorka) and Rovny bridge over to Chevrier en Amezqueta before the four hook up with the group Visconti. Down in the valley they all re-join Sánchez. Meanwhile, Barbin and Boem have left the peloton to chase the front group down.

The leaders race to a maximum lead of almost 5 minutes, but then Jungel’s QuickStep takes control to bring the gap down to 2 minutes. Visconti speeds up with Sánchez, Mühlberger, Conti and Izagirre on his wheel and the five widen the gap to 3 minutes. When it’s down to less than 2 minutes Conti is the first to attack, then Visconti goes. They are brought back, yet Mühlberger can’t follow the pace. Landa attacks from the pack with 9 kms to go, but he is brought back.

Hitting the last climb the front group is 39 seconds ahead of the peloton. Conti leads when he crashes on a turn within the last kilometre. Izagirre enjoys a small gap and he accelerates. That’s enough as both Sánchez and Visconti can’t get to his wheel and he soloes to victory.

Bob Jungels crosses the line with the GC candidates and holds on to the maglia rosa. Tomorrow’s stage runs to the 13.6 kilometres climb up Blockhaus, which is averaging 8.4% and is sure to bring action amongst the GC contenders.

Check out the route of the 8th stage in the 2017 Giro.

Giro 2017 stage 8: Route maps, height profiles, and more

Click on the images to zoom

Gorka Izagirre

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Riders - Giro 2017 Withdrawals - Giro 2017 Results - Giro 2017 GC Favourites - Giro 2019 Favourites - Giro 2017
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!