Gent - Wevelgem 2017: Van Avermaet bests Keukeleire in sprint-à-deux

At 241.3 kilometres, the route of Gent-Wevelgem's 78th edition takes in three sectors of semi-paved road and ten hills. The super-steep Kemmelberg is decisive and eventually Keukeleire and Van Avermaet turn out on top. The Olympic Champion is fastest. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results Gent-Wevelgem 2017

1. Greg Van Avermaet (bel)
2. Jens Keukeleire (bel) s.t.
3. Peter Sagan (svk) + 0.06
4. Niki Terpstra (nld) s.t.
5. John Degenkolb (ger) s.t.
6. Tom Boonen (bel) s.t.
7. Jens Debusschere (bel) s.t.
8. Michael Matthews (aus) s.t.
9. Fernando Gaviria (col) s.t.
10. Sacha Modolo (ita) s.t.

Race report
After 30 kilometres Preben Van Hecke, Dennis van Winden, Elmar Reinders, Hugo Houle, Ryan Mullen, Mark McNally, Jay Thomson, Loïc Chetout and Christophe Masson jump free. They race to a maximum lead of 8 minutes lead.

With 40 kilometres to go Van Hecke is the last leader to be reeled in.

Van Avermaet accelerates on the last climb up the Kemmelberg and he is accompanied by Sagan. Degenkolb, Terpstra, Stybar and Boasson-Hagen bridge over, while a group with Matthews, Naesen, Keukeleire, Trentin, Colbrelli, Thwaites, Bettiol and Kragh Andersen also re-joins. Only flat roads left to the line.

After Ypres Keukeleire pushes on with Van Avermaet, Terpstra, Sagan en Kragh Andersen. The first two forge ahead, while the other three start looking at each other. The gap widens to 20 seconds, shrinks, and then goes up again.

Van Avermaet opens up the ensuing sprint and powers to his second win three days as he took E3 Harelbeke last Friday.

Read about the route of Gent-Wevelgem 2017 and the riders.

Gent-Wevelgem 2017: Route maps, height profiles, and more

Click on the images to zoom

Greg van Avermaet

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Overview - Gent - Wevelgem 2017
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!