Dwars door Vlaanderen: Winners and records

Matteo Jorgenson - Dwars door Vlaanderen: Winners and recordsfoto: Cor VosDwars door Vlaanderen started out as Dwars door België in 1945, which means Across Belgium. For a long time it has been a two days stage race, but as of 1965 it found its current form as a one-day race. In 2000 the name was changed to Dwars door Vlaanderen. Cyclingstage.com brings you the records and recent winners.

Recent winners Dwars door Vlaanderen

2024: Matteo Jorgenson (usa)
2023: Christophe Laporte (fra)
2022: Mathieu van der Poel (nld)
2021: Dylan van Baarle (nld)
2020: cancelled
2019: Mathieu van der Poel (nld)
2018: Yves Lampaert (bel)
2017: Yves Lampaert (bel)
2016: Jens Debusschere (bel)
2015: Jelle Wallays (bel)
2014: Niki Terpstra (nld)

Dwars door Vlaanderen records
Belgium is the most successful country, which does not come as a big surprise as the race is on Belgian soil. 55 editions were won by a home rider.

Thirteen Belgians did win Dwars door Vlaanderen twice. Ten of them were Belgian: André Rosseel (1948, 1950), Raymond Impanis (1949, 1951), Briek Schotte (1953, 1955), Walter Godefroot (1966, 1968), Daniel Van Ryckeghem (1967, 1970), Walter Planckaert (1977, 1984), Eric Vanderaerden (1986, 1991), Johan Museeuw (1993, 1999), Niko Eeckhout (2001, 2005), and Yves Lampaert (2017, 2018).

Four Dutchmen brought home the bacon twice: Jelle Nijdam (1987, 1995), Tristan Hoffman (1996, 2000), Niki Terpstra (2012, 2014) and Mathieu van der Poel (2019, 2022).

No rider ever won Dwars door Vlaanderen three times. Is Van der Poel going to pull it off?

Tom BoonenNiki TerpstraJens DebusschereYves LampaertDylan van BaarleMathieu van der PoelChristophe LaporteMatteo Jorgenson

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Leave a comment
No comments yet, your opinion is most welcome.

Related articles
Favourites - Dwars door Vlaanderen 2024 Overview - Dwars door Vlaanderen 2024
More articles