Dwars door Vlaanderen 2023: Laporte solos to victory

Christophe Laporte - Dwars door Vlaanderen 2023: Laporte solos to victoryfoto: Cor VosBreakaway riders Oier Lazkano and Alexander Kristoff last long in Dwars door Vlaanderen. When they are caught inside the last 6 kilometres Christophe Laporte attacks from the chase group to solo to victory. Oier Lazkano outsprints Neilson Powless for second place. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 2023 Dwars door Vlaanderen

1. Christophe Laporte (fra)
2. Oier Lazkano (spa) + 0.15
3. Neilson Powless (usa) s.t.
4. Jasper Philipsen (bel) s.t.
5. Mads Pedersen (den) s.t.
6. Arnaud De Lie (bel) s.t.
7. Davide Ballerini (ita) s.t.
8. Andrea Pasqualon (ita) s.t.
9. Olivier Le Gac (fra) s.t.
10. Nils Politt (ger) s.t.

Race report
Yevgeniy Gidich, Oier Lazkano, Nickolas Zukowsky and Ward Vanhoof initiate the breakway after 20 kilometres of relentless action. Leon Heinschke and Alexander Kristoff bridge across and the six open up a 4.30 minutes gap.

After accelerations on Berg ten Houte and Kanarieberg Benoot Benoot speeds up again n the Knokteberg. Hermans follows the move, while Powless is the first riders to close the gap before Laporte, Narváez, Küng, Madouas and Honoré also make it across.

Kristoff and Lazkano last long at the front, but finally the two are caught inside the final 6 kilometres. Following several attacks it is Laporte who makes the decisive move with 4 kilometres to go. Lazkano and Powless try to bridge across to the Frenchman. It’s in vain, but they do stay in front of the charging peloton.

While Laporte doubles up after winning Gent-Wevelgem three days ago, Lazkano outguns Powless in the sprint for second place.

Other interesting reads: route and start list Dwars door Vlaanderen 2023.

Dwars door Vlaanderen 2023: routes, profiles, more

Click on the images to zoom

Christophe Laporte

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Overview - Dwars door Vlaanderen 2023
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!