BinckBank Tour 2019: Naesen wins final stage, De Plus takes GC

The BinckBank Tour serves a Flemish Classic on the last day of action. Oliver Naesen wins the race in a three-up sprint ahead of Greg van Avermaet and Laurens De Plus, who takes the overall victory. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 7th stage BinckBank Tour 2019

1. Oliver Naesen (bel)
2. Greg Van Avermaet (bel) s.t.
3. Laurens De Plus (bel) + 0.04
4. Simon Clarke (aus) + 0.25
5. Philippe Gilbert (bel) + 0.26
6. Mike Teunissen (nld) s.t.
7. Michael Valgren (den)+ 0.35
8. Iván García (spa) s.t.
9. Amaury Capiot (bel) + 0.38
10. Dylan van Baarle (nld) s.t.

GC after stage 7
1. Laurens De Plus (bel)
2. Oliver Naesen (bel) + 0.35
3. Tim Wellens (bel) + 0.36
4. Greg Van Avermaet (bel) + 0.37
5. Marc Hirschi (swi) + 0.44
6. Mike Teunissen (nld) + 1.06
7. Iván García (spa) + 1.13
8. Stefan Küng (swi) + 1.16
9. Simon Clarke (aus) + 1.19
10. Søren Kragh Andersen (den) + 1.21

Race report
The breakaway takes shape after approximately 80 kilometres. Oscar Riesebeek, Laurens De Vreese, Gijs Van Hoecke, Martijn Tusveld, Ludovic Robeet, Mitchell Docker, Carlos Verona, Valentin Madouas, Bob Jungels, Jack Bauer, Casper Pedersen, Marco Marcato, Zhandos Bizhigitov, Mads Pedersen and Aimé De Gendt race to a lead of almost 1 minute.

Bauer and Mads Pedersen head alone in the second climb of the Wall of Geraardsbergen, while Madouas, De Gendt, Marcato and Casper Pedersen bridge across. Pöstlberger joins the front of the race with 40 kilometres remaining.

The favourites reel in the front group on the last full climb up the Wall of Geraardsbergen, while De Plus, Naesen and Van Avermaet jump clear before the Bosberg. The climb coincides with the Golden Kilometre and De Plus gains 7 seconds.

Right now, the three are 30 seconds clear. Clarke and Gilbert go after them inside the last 4.5 kilometres, while Teunissen bridges across.

Van Avermaet opens the uphill sprint early and while De Plus can’t follow Naesen sticks to his wheel. He comes around in the final metres to win the stage and De Plus takes the overall victory. Naesen and Wellens round out the podium.

Another interesting read: route last stage 2019 BinckBank Tour.

BinckBank Tour 2019 stage 7: route, profile, more

Click on the images to zoom

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Favourites - BinckBank Tour 2019 Overview - BinckBank Tour 2019 Filippo Ganna wins ITT, Tim Wellens extends lead - BinckBank Tour 2019 Hodeg outguns Bennett, Wellens still leader - BinckBank Tour 2019 New leader Wellens wins three-up sprint - BinckBank Tour 2019 Bennett sprints to third victory - BinckBank Tour 2019 Bennett strikes again to extend lead - BinckBank Tour 2019 Sam Bennett sprints to first leader's jersey - BinckBank Tour 2019 Route stage 1: Beveren - Hulst - BinckBank Tour 2019 Route stage 2: Blankenberge - Ardooie - BinckBank Tour 2019 Route stage 3: Aalter - Aalter - BinckBank Tour 2019 Route stage 4: Houffalize - Houffalize - BinckBank Tour 2019 Route stage 5: Riemst - Venray - BinckBank Tour 2019 Route stage 6: ITT in The Hague - BinckBank Tour 2019
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!