Amstel Gold Race 2015: Kwiatkowski outsprints Valverde and Matthews

Amstel Gold race 2014The 50th edition of the Amstel Gold Race takes the riders in 258 kilometres over 34 short steep hills. It all boils down to the last climb up Cauberg. Gilbert attacks with Michael Matthews on his wheel, but at the top a small group sprints for the win. Kwiatkowski is fastest, besting Valverde and Matthews. (Slideshow route/profile)

Amstel Gold Race 2015: Race results

1. Michal Kwiatkowski (pol)
2. Alejandro Valverde (spa) s.t.
3. Michael Matthews (aus) s.t.
4. Rui Costa (por) s.t.
5. Greg Van Avermaet (bel) s.t.
6. Tony Gallopin (fra) s.t.
7. Julian Alaphilippe (fra) s.t.
8. Enrico Gasparotto (ita) s.t.
9. Maciej Paterski (pol) s.t.
10. Philippe Gilbert (bel) s.t.

Race report
Attacks galore in the beginning of the race, but its only with 30 km’s done Terpstra (Mike), Roosen, De Vreese, Polanc, Gerdemann and Van Zyl are off. They race to a maximum gain of 10 minutes gain.

With 35 kilometres left Tanner and Clarke jump to Polanc and De Vreese, the last survivors of the early break. A moment later Kelderman, Nibali, Caruso, Howes, Rosa and Martin break free from the pack.

At Keuterberg Tanner and Clarke are the last two upfront and they are accompanied by Nibali, Martin, Tanner and Howes. The other chasers are dropped after crashes and steering errors.

The penultimate climb up Cauberg means end of story for Howes. When cresting the leaders have a 0’18” gain over het decimated pack.

With 14 km’s to go Clarke decides to go solo, but at Bemelerberg he is reeled in. Fuglsang and Van Avermaet give it a go with no result, mainly because Van Avermaet doesn’t cooperate. Obviously BMC thinks Gilbert is their only option.

It all boils down to the last toil up Cauberg. Hermans attacks with Gilbert taking over. He gives it all he has got, but with Matthews on his wheel – giving alle he has got also. For both it is not enough, since at the false flat on the top Valverde is the first to join the duo with several other riders to follow. Eventually a small group sprints for the win with world champion Michal Kwiatkowski besting Valverde en Matthews.

And Gilbert? The three times winner is tenth.

Amstel Gold Race 2015: Route maps, height profiles, and more

Click on the images to zoom

Michal Kwiatkowski

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Overview - Amstel Gold Race 2015
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!