Volta a Catalunya 2022 Route stage 5: La Pobla de Segur – Vilanova i la Geltrú

Volta a Catalunya 2022 stage 5Friday 25 March - The 5th stage of the Volta a Catalunya travels from La Pobla de Segur to Vilanova i la Geltrú. At 206.3 kilometres, it's the longest race of this edition.

The 2018 Volta a Catalunya saw a coincidental stage start in La Pobla de Segur. Originally, the race would have left from Vielha but due to heavy snow the route was shortened. The race returned to La Pobla de Segur last year, again with a stage start. The race to Manresa had breakaway written all over it, and so it happened. Lennard Kämna soloed to victory with a decisive attack inside the last 10 kilometres.

Is the breakaway going to succeed again? That’s quite possible. The first phase is perfect for an exciting breakaway battle. In fact, it’s a carbon copy of last year’s La Pobla de Segur-Manresa race.

Last year, the breakaway took shape in the descent of the Coll de Comiols, which is a steady climb at shallow gradients of some 8 kilometres long. It’s crested at kilometre 38.

After the Coll de Comiols the route takes another direction. On undulating terrain the riders set sail for the coast. And while the only KOM points of the day are available on the Coll de Comiols, the route is far from flat. In fact, the total elevation gain adds up to 2,760 metres.

It’s been six years since Vilanova i la Geltrú last featured as a stage finish on the Volta a Catalunya. The race panned out into a bunch sprint with Davide Cimolai taking the spoils ahead of Nikias Arndt and Tosh Van der Sande.

The first three riders on the line gain time bonuses of 10, 6 and 4 seconds, while intermediate sprints come with 3, 2 and 1 seconds.

Ride the route yourself? Download GPX stage 5 Volta 2022.

Another interesting read: results 5th stage 2022 Volta a Catalunya.

Volta a Catalunya 2022 stage 5: route, profile, more

Click on the images to zoom

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
GC Favourites - Volta a Catalunya 20 Overview - Volta a Catalunya 20 Bagioli wins final stage, Higuita seals GC win - Volta a Catalunya 20 Carapaz wins spectacle race, Higuita new leader - Volta a Catalunya 20 Almeida wins in Boí Taüll, Quintana new leader - Volta a Catalunya 20 Ben O'Connor wins and takes race lead in La Molina - Volta a Catalunya 20 Sprint victory Groves, Hvideberg takes GC lead - Volta a Catalunya 20 Matthews wins uphill sprint to take race lead - Volta a Catalunya 20 Route stage 1: Sant Feliu de Guíxols - Sant Feliu de Guíxols - Volta a Catalunya 20 Route stage 2: L’Escala – Perpignan - Volta a Catalunya 20 Route stage 3: Perpignan – La Molina - Volta a Catalunya 20 Route stage 4: La Seu d’Urgell – Boí Taüll - Volta a Catalunya 20 Route stage 6: Salou – Cambrils - Volta a Catalunya 20 Route stage 7: Barcelona - Barcelona - Volta a Catalunya 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!